Otterden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Otterden, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Otterden, Kent
Otterden St Lawrence Kent.jpg
Otterden St Lawrence Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hollingbourne PLU
Registration District Hollingbourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish and Chapel History

Otterden is a village and civil parish in the borough of Maidstone, Kent, see Otterden Wikipedia

The parish of Stalisfield with Otterden is a parish in the Diocese of Canterbury;and the parish church is St Mary's, Stalisfield. See Stalisfield, Kent St Lawrence, in the grounds of Otterden Place, is a private chapel where services are normally held only during summer.
The church of St Lawrence is now owned by a charity the Wheeler Foundation and is within the parkland grounds of Otterden House see Otterden History website

The chapel functioned as an estate chapel for the Otterden estate.

The church of St Lawrence Otterden has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 533-549 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

OTTERDEN (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Hollingbourn, partly in the hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, but chiefly in the hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N.) from Charing. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Hollingbourne registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Otterden, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Otterden, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1754-1911

NBI

1660-1812

Original deposited registers are held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Otterden
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

It is advisable to search the parish registers for Stalisfield, Kent although Archdeacon's Transcripts and Bishop's Transcripts are held for baptisms, marriages and burials at the chapel which was rebuilt in 1753 after the ruin of the earlier church and served a small number of hamlets in the vicinity. See Edward Hasted ( link included in chapel history paragraph above) for further history.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Land Tax

Images for Otterden available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

The tax records reflect the small population of the estate and that whilst nominally a parish after the rebuilding of the chapel in 1753 there were very few communicants in the 1830's. The rector owned land within the estate and derived benefit from it being liable as the land owner.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306856.


 

Poor Law Unions

Hollingbourne Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 491-495. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,648 times.