Ottery St Mary, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Ottery St Mary, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ottery St Mary, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred St Mary Ottery
County Devon
Poor Law Union Honiton PLU
Registration District Honiton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OTTERY ST. MARY, a market-town and parish, constituting the hundred of Ottery St. Mary, in the union of Honiton, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon, 11 miles (E. by N.) from Exeter, and 161 (W. S. W.) from London. This place derives its name from its situation on the river Otter, and from the dedication of its church to the Blessed Virgin. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Ottery St Mary began as a Saxon settlement. The origins of the name 'Ottery' are debated: some say that it is taken from the River Otter, others that it is from the manor house occupied by the Canons of Rouen (1061-1337), named 'Otrei', and appearing in the Domesday Book of 1086. 'Oteri Sancte Marie' is first mentioned in 1242, with the 'St Mary' added to honour the church of St Mary. The church houses the Astronomical Clock, one of the oldest mechanical clocks in the country.

Ottery St Mary featured in the English Civil War, especially in 1645 when it became a garrison town, and was visited by Oliver Cromwell. Romantic poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge was born in Ottery St Mary, and author William Makepeace Thackeray refers to the town in some of his works.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ottery St Mary, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
OTTERY ST MARY PARISH (1601) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1601-1837

FREG 1806-1808,
1813-1823,
1839-1863
1813-1837 1806-1809,
1815-1845,
1851-1878,
1881-1884,
1923-1930
IGI 1601-1837 1601-1837
PALL 1790-1837

Ottery St Mary parish registers are held in the Devon Record Office and begin in 1601.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241318.

  • 1700 - transcript of list of householders held at GENUKI site
  • 1841 - transcription in progress (to be held on FreeCEN site)
  • 1861 - held at FreeCEN site and searchable (use Piece No 1378)
  • 1881 - searchable on FamilySearch site
  • 1891 - held at FreeCEN site and searchable (use Piece No 1672)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Online Parish Clerk

Devon Online Parish Clerks is a resource of volunteers willing to provide free look-ups and research within the County of Devon. The Online Parish Clerk for Ottery St Mary maintains a website at http://www.rosweb.org.uk/index.html with transcripts and links to nonconformist records, trade directories, and census records.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 26 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,447 times.