Ouachita Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  Ouachita Parish

Guide to Ouachita Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Ouachita Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Ouachita Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 10, 1805
County Seat Monroe
Courthouse
Ouachita Parish Courthouse.jpg
Address 300 St John Street
Monroe, LA 71201
Website: oppj.org
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Ouachita Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 

Contents

Parish Courthouse

Ouachita Parish Courthouse
300 St John Street
Monroe, LA 71201
Phone: 318.327.1444 

Parish Clerk has marriage records from 1800’s,
divorce, court and probate records from 1900,
land records from 1790’s and some military records.[1]

History

Parent Parish

1805--Ouachita Parish was created 10 April 1805 as an original parish.
Parish seat: Monroe [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Laouachita.png

Cemeteries

To view the vast majority of Cemetery Listings for Ouachita (Pronounced Wash-taw) Parish visit http://www.usgwarchives.net/la/ouachita/cemetery.htm

Census

Census Pop.
190020,947
191025,83023.3%
192030,31917.4%
193054,33779.2%
194059,1688.9%
195074,71326.3%
1960101,66336.1%
1970115,38713.5%
1980139,24120.7%
1990142,1912.1%
2000147,2503.6%
Est. 2006149,259[2]1.4%
Ouachita Parish Census Data[3]

Church

Court

Ethnic and Religious Groups

African American

Contributors of Oqachita Parish: a History of Blacks to Commemorate the Bicentennial of the United States of America; research and compilation by the Black Bicentennial Committee of Ouachita Parish. - [Monroe. La.} : The committee, 1976. 42 p. : ill. F377.078 B58 1976

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Ouachita Parish, Louisiana served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ouachita Parish, Louisiana:


- 3rd Battery, Louisiana Light Artillery (Benton's)(Confederate),

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ouachita Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Ouachita Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Ouachita Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "Ouachita Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22073.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  3. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:49.
  • This page has been accessed 6,478 times.