Oulton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Oulton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oulton, Norfolk
Oulton St Peter and Paul Norfolk contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OULTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Aylsham. There is a place of worship for Independents[1]

Oulton Saints Peter and St Paul with Irmingland near Aylsham is an ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.  

It is not to be confused with  Oulton St Michael, Suffolk also in the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk

Oulton is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of Broadland.

Church Records

Oulton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Oulton, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1837
1600-1837
1600-1837
FS PRs Undefined 1564-1901 Undefined 1564-1915 Undefined 1564-1901
JOIN
1813-1836

This parish does not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held.

A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film and have now been published online.

Archdeacons transcripts held at Norfolk Record Office

Content Film
Baptisms 1600-1607, 1623, 1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1607, 1633, 1671-1812 Burials 1600-1606, 1623, 1633, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film
1526780 Item 11

If your search lies ouside the years of the transcripts you will need to contact the Norfolk Record Office who hold the deposited records for the parish under their reference PD 431 For those unable to visit the Norfolk Record Office in person a research service is available (fee payable).

See also

England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Congregational Chapel, from 1731 Births and baptisms, 1725-1837 Public Record Office, London.
RG-4 series no. 1262 Independent Church (Oulton)

Content Film
Births and baptisms, 1725-1837 FHL BRITISH Film
825334 Item 2

Methodist Chapel in Oulton Street.

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Aylsham

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes O through S

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 491-495. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:15.
  • This page has been accessed 945 times.