Out Rawcliffe, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Out Rawcliffe, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Out Rawcliffe, Lancashire
Out Rawcliffe St John contributor Tom Richardson.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Garstang PLU
Registration District Garstang
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

RAWCLIFFE, OUT, a township with a district chapel, in the parish of St. Michael Garstang, union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 4½ miles northeast by east of Poulton. The chapel, St. John's, was built in 1838.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Out Rawcliffe chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of St Michael on Wyre to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


OUT RAWCLIFFE ST JOHN Chapelry (1838) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1838-1845 1841-1900 1841-1845
LOPC None 1841-1900 None 
LBMD None 1841-2000 None
ST MICHAEL ON WYRE(ancient parish containing OUT RAWCLIFFE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1662-1844 1662-1741; 1754-1901  None
LOPC 1662-1947 1662-1900 1662-1948 
FMP  None 1662-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-2006 None
AO 1659-1707 1659-1707 1659-1707


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Out Rawcliffe and comprising the whole ancient parish of St Michael on Wyre to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ST MICHAEL ON WYRE PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306889.


Poor Law Unions

Garstang Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Lancashire Churches website http://www.lancashirechurches.co.uk/outrawcliffe.htm

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 640-645. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,949 times.