Outagamie County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Outagamie County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Outagamie County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Outagamie County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Appleton
Courthouse
WI Outagamie.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Outagamie County Courthouse
410 S Walnut Street
Appleton, WI 54911
Phone: 920.832.5077

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records from 1852;
Clerk Court has divorce; court records from 1855; Register in
Probate has probate records from 1855[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1851--Outagamie County was created 17 February 1851 fromBrown and Winnebago Counties.
County seat: Appleton [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable images to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Court Records 

Circuit, County, and Municipal Court case files from 1852-1981 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Tax Rolls from 1855-1980 are available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center




A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Wisconsin, Outagamie County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Outagamie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Outagamie County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G and M
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company E

Naturalization and Citizenship 

Declarations of Intention and Naturalization records from 1852-1963 are available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Online index available: http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/

Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Newspapers

Obituaries

Appleton Public Library Obituary Index: Appleton is situated on the fox River, in Outagamie, Calument and Winnebago counties.

  • Partial index to obituaries and death notices published in Appleton newspapers. There are complete records for 1853-71; 1874; 1920-22; 1939-42; 1944; 1948-52; 1958-1960; 1970; 1980; 1981; 1992-94, and January 1, 2001 to December 6, 2011. Some records from 1848; 1875; 1889; 1899; 1923; 1930; 1945; 1954; 1957; 1969; 1971-73; 1981; 1982; 1987; and 1991 have been indexed.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Case files from 1853-1958 are available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Online Index available at:  http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/

Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Wisconsin, Outagamie County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums 

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: [http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/ Collections Search at UW-Green Bay Area Research Center.
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

 Pre-1907 birth, marriage, and death registrations are available on microfilm at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request forms available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
 

Voting Registers

Wiki Pages

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Pepin Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 19:55.
  • This page has been accessed 6,446 times.