Outwell, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes
Outwell, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clackclose; Wisbeach
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wisbech PLU
Registration District Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fincham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OUTWELL, a village and a parish in the district of Wisbeach and counties of Cambridge and Norfolk. The village stands on the old river Nen and on the Wisbeach canal, immediately N of Upwell, and 5 miles S S E of Wisbeach. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists. [1]


Outwell is an Ancient Parish in the county of Norfolk. Outwell is partly in Norfolk and partly in Cambridgeshire with the main part being in Norfolk. See also Outwell, Cambridgeshire.

Also of note is nearby Nordelph, or Northdelph, which is a hamlet that is the "converging point of different parishes viz Dowoham, Denver, Upwell, Outwll and Stow Bardolplh."[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site isFreeBMD.

Church records

Outwell, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Outwell, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1880
1725-1812
1725-1812
JOIN
1725-1812

TIN 1813-1880


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Anglican Church for this parish is St. Clement.

Parish Registers available from 1665 on FHL Film # 894712 Item 5.

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812 on FHL Film # 1526808 Item 12

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241227.

1891 Surname Index provided through Genuki.co.uk
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
FindMyPast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 495-498. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. "Nordelph, Norfolk" Martin & Marie Edwards Personal Web Pages
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:56.
  • This page has been accessed 618 times.