Over, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Over

Guide to Over, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Chad's Church, Over Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

OVER, is a small town, a township, and a sub-district in Northwich district, and a parish partly also in Nantwich district, Cheshire. There are three churches, and four dissenting chapels. The parish church, or St. Chad's, stands about a mile S of the town; St. John's church serves for a section of the parish formed into a chapelry in 1864. The dissenting chapels are Wesleyan, Primitive Methodist, and United Free Methodist.

The township contains also Swanlow hamlet, includes part of Whitegate parish. The parish contains also the townships of Low Oulton and Wettenhall.  The Wesleyan chapel is in Swanlow; and the Primitive Methodist chapel is in Wettenhall.[1]

St Chad's Church, Over is in the town of Winsford, Cheshire, England. It was formerly in the separate town of Over, but with the growth of Winsford it has become part of this town. Over, St. Chad, Church Hill was an ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Low Oulton and Wettenhall and parts of Marton (near Winsford) and Over.

Whitegate, St. Mary (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Darnhall and parts of Marton (near Winsford), Over and Weaverham cum Milton. Registers of Baptisms 1565–1932, Marriages 1565–1942 and Burials 1565–1951 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office
Winsford, Christ Church (C of E), High Street.
Over, St. John the Evangelist (C of E), Delamere Street. Founded 1863 as the parish church for part of Over. Registers of Baptisms 1863–1980, Marriages 1863–1982 and Burials 1868–1970 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office
Sandiway, St John the Evangelist (C of E). The parish church for part of Over since 1935.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church records

Over St Chad parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Over St Chad Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1816-1871


FS PR's 1558-1909
  NONE
1559-1912
  NONE
1558-1917
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1876
  NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1599-1876
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Over, 1558-1929 Cheshire Record Office call number: P146/1/1-4, 2/1-5, 3/1-4, 4, 5/1-4.

Cheshire parish registers are available online in Family Search Historic Records

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1558-1700. Marriages, 1558-1700. Burials, 1558-1733. BRITISH 2105096 Items 6 - 7
Baptisms, 1700-1911. Marriages, 1700-January 1783. Burials, 1732-1812. BRITISH 2105305
Marriages, February 1772-1912. Marriage banns, 1863-1929. Burials, 1813-November 1848. BRITISH 2105306
Burials, July 1848-1917. BRITISH 2105307 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Over, 1588-1876  Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts are available online in FamilySearch Historic Records Cheshire Record Office number: EDB/162

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1588, 1600, 1607, 1609, 1613-1615, 1617-1620, 1623-1630, 1633-1637, 1641, 1658-1660, 1662-1666, 1668-1671, 1673-1677, 1679-1685, 1687-1689, 1696-1763, 1766-1818. BRITISH 1751482 Items 2 - 5
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1816-1833. BRITISH 1751483
Burials, 1833. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1834-1837.  Baptisms, burials, 1838-1871. BRITISH 1751484
Burials, 1871-1876. Baptisms, 1872-1876. BRITISH 1751485 Item 1

Note that the change of Over to Winsford involves the later church of  Christ Church, Winsford, which  became known as St. Chad's, Over in 1939. That church has records at Chester Record Office number P318.

Non-Conformist Churches

Ways Green, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic). Founded 1949.
Over, St. Paul's Methodist Church (Free). Built in 1836 on Over Lane, rebuilt in 1877 on High Street, closed in 1977. Registers 1868–1977 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Over, Central Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1842 on Chapel Street, rebuilt in 1871 on High Street, closed in 1976. Registers 1861–1976 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Over, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Swanlow Lane. Built in 1861, closed in 1954. Registers 1925–1949 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Over, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Chester Road. Built in 1876.
Over, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), High Street. Built in 1883, closed in 1977. Registers 1887–1977 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Meadowbank, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1897.
Over, St. Andrew's Methodist Chapel. Opened 1977.
Over, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Swanlow Lane. Built in 1814.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Northwich

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 263–267
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 61, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 389, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,723 times.