Over Darwen St James, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Over Darwen St James, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Over Darwen St James, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Blackburn PLU
Registration District Blackburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1781
Bishop's Transcripts: 1723
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackburn
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

DARWEN, OVER, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Blackburn, Lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 4¼ miles south by east of Blackburn. The chapel, dedicated to St. James, and now a district church, was erected prior to 1687. A second church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected in 1827-8. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and others.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Over Darwen St James chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Blackburn to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
OVER DARWEN ST JAMES Chapelry  (1781) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1813-1836, 1847-1851 None 1829-1836, 1847-1851
LOPC 1781-1814, 1816-1836, 1847-1851 None 1782-1814, 1816-1836, 1847-1851
LBMD None None None
BLACKBURN ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1600-1910 1600-1704, 1720-1900 1720-1900
LOPC 1600-1611, 1614-1628, 1653-1848, 1854-1881 1600-1680, 1698-1705, 1722-1900 1651-1652, 1746-1900
LBMD 1837-1885 1837-1957 1837-1885
FMP None 1600-1705 None
AC 1600-1660 1600-1660 1600-1660


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Over Darwen St James and comprising the whole ancient parish of Blackburn to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BLACKBURN ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306892.

Genealogy

Payne, Moira I. Hindle of Darwen. History, census and family tree of Thomas Hindle and betty Briggs with the following surnames: Greenough, Duxbury, Walsh, Smalley, Bentley, Chadwick, Duckworth, with a branch going to Canada, and 1 to Australia, dating 1758-1888, The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc Magazine, vol.9,no.2.pages 32-40, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2103

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,557 times.