Over Denton, CumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Over Denton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Over Denton, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Brampton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Pre-1777 - Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory); Post-1776 - Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
DENTON, UPPER, a parish, in the union of Brampton, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 6 miles (E.N.E.) from Brampton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Over Denton, 1813-1963
Bishop's transcripts for Over Denton, 1814-1882
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241281.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Denton Upper on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 17:43.
- This page has been accessed 681 times.