Over Peover, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Over Peover, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Over Peover, Cheshire
Over Peover St Lawrence.jpg
Over Peover St Lawrence
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PEOVER (Over), is  a chapelry in Rostherne parish, Cheshire; on the river Peover. 2½ miles W S W of Chelford railway station, and 3½ miles S S E of Knutsford. It comprises the townships of Peover Superior, Marthall, and Snelson; and it has a post-office under Knutsford. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Over Peover St Lawrence is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1827 from Peover Superior chapelry in Rostherne Ancient Parish. It included Marthall cum Warford, Peover Superior and Snelson.

It is thought that the original church was built in the reign of Edward III. The present tower was built of brick in 1739, probably by J. Garlive. The nave and chancel were rebuilt in brick in 1811 by William Turner. During the restoration the pre-existing stone chapels were preserved. The south chapel dates from 1456 and the north chapel from 1648. The north chapel was built by Ellen, widow of Philip Mainwaring.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

Over Peover St Laurence chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Over Peover St Laurence Chapelry (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1814-1882
1814-1869


FS PR's 1668-1908
  NONE
1668-1933
  NONE
1668-1956
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1882
  NONE
1600-1869
  NONE
1600-1882
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Rostherne, St. Mary (C of E). The ancient parish church for Peover Superior.

Over Peover, St. Lawrence (C of E). An ancient chapelry in Rostherne parish, originally serving the townships of Marthall cum Warford, Peover Superior and Snelson. Registers of Baptisms 1664–1919, Marriages 1664–1954 & 1988–1999 and Burials 1664–1956 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Over Peover is a chapelry in the parish of Rostherne. Cheshire Record Office number: P77/1-7

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1668-1727. Births, 1697-1711. Baptisms, 1813-1919. Banns, 1784-1812. Marriages, 1813-1954. BRITISH 1836001 Items 4-9
Banns, 1846-1901, 1862-1894. Burials (chapelwardens' records), 1678-1707, 1813-1956. Chapelwardens' records, 1678-1707 BRITISH 1836002 Items 1-3
Marriages, 1754-1954. Burials, 1813-1956. Burials in woollen, 1678-1707. VAULT BRITISH 2000037 Items 1-6
Baptisms, burials, 1726-1812; marriages, 1728-1789. BRITISH 2299164 Item 9

Bishop's transcripts for Over-Peover, 1600-1911 Some intermittent years are missing.
The chapelry of Over-Peover is in the parish of Rostherne. Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB/164

Bishop's transcripts Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1614-1616, 1624-1625, 1631, 1634-1637, 1662, 1665-1673, 1776, 1680-1685, 1690-1813. BRITISH 1751485 Items 3 - 4
Burials, 1813, 1856. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1814-1827, 1829-1846, 1848-1849, 1851-1855, 1857-1865. Baptisms, burials, 1828, 1850, 1866-1882, 1905, 1907, 1910-1911. BRITISH 1751486 Item 1

Over Peover, St. Michael (C of E). A chapel of ease to St. Lawrence. Registers of Baptisms 1929–1968 are held at St Lawrence (no marriages or burials).

Non-Conformist Churches

Over Peover, Methodist Chapel. Built in 1913.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference EMS 102 Over Peover Methodist Chapel Date 20th century Description Various records 1913

Their website is here.

Over Peover- United Methodist Church
Baptisms Transcript-1914-1968- MSC 929.3271 A
Burials Transcript-1916-1968- MSC 929.3271 A
Marriages Transcript-1923-1966- MSC 929.3271 A

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Macclesfield (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire East (1998+) 

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Over Peover (see Peover Superior) on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 267–273
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 298, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 21:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,061 times.