Over Silton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Over Silton

Guide to Over Silton, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Over Silton, Yorkshire
Over Silton St Mary Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Northallerton PLU
Registration District Northallerton; Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Over Silton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1757 from chapelry Kilburn Ecclesiastical Parish. Other places in the parish include: Kepwick.

SILTON, OVER (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Northallerton, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York; containing, with the township of Kepwick, 271 inhabitants, of whom 98 are in Over Silton township, 8½ miles (N. by E.) from Thirsk. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Over Silton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
OVER SILTON PARISH (1696) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1697-1877 1697-1877 1697-1836 1697-1836 1678-1812 1678-1812
FS 1697-1874

1735-1845

None

JOIN None
1696-1837

None
NBI

1678-1774, 1777-1785, 1788-1910, 1913-1948, 1954, 1958-1965, 1968, 1971-1979

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464228.

Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 107-110. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' FindMyPast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 October 2014, at 18:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,005 times.