Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Part of this parish is in Gloucestershire county. See also Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Worcestershire.

Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Tewkesbury; Winchcomb PLU
Registration District Tewkesbury; Winchcomb
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557; Separate registers exist for Alstone (Gloucestershire) beginning 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611; Separate records exist for Alstone (Gloucestershire) beginning 1619
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pershore
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

OVERBURY (St. Faith), a parish, in the unions of Tewkesbury and Winchcomb, Middle division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 5½ miles (N. E.) from Tewkesbury; containing, with the chapelries of Alstone,Teddington, and Little Washbourne, and the hamlet of Conderton. There are chapels of ease at Alstone, Teddington, and Little Washbourne; and the Independents have a place of worship: [1]

The ecclesiastical parish of Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne is an ancient parish that is partly in the county of Gloucestershire, but mostly in the county of Worcestershire.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464211.


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 495-498. Date accessed: 07 January 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 14:34.
  • This page has been accessed 485 times.