OverijsselEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png The Netherlands Gotoarrow.pngOverijssel


Guide to Overijssel, The Netherlands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

News
  • (Your Bullets here)

more...

Events
  • (Your Bullets here)


Topics

Geographical and Historical information can be found here Overijssel

The capital city of Overijssel is Zwolle

A good web-site for genealogical research is: Historisch Centrum Overijssel


Contents

Featured Content

Hoonhorst-Langs water Den Aalshorst.jpg

Genealogy in Overijssel

For genealogical purposes, Overijssel is split into two parts. The eastern part, Twente, used the system of farm names before the introduction of the civil registration. The western part, consisting of Salland and Vollenhove, used patronymics mostly although a clear line cannot be drawn between the regions.

Most of the records for Overijssel are kept by the Overijssel Historical Center. Unfortunately, their website is in Dutch only. The marriage records from the civil registration and some of the death records can be found in WieWasWie.

Jurisdictions

Did you know?

Registers at Genemuiden were lost in 1868 and 1882, but some baptisms, marriages, and burials from that locality were registered in Mastenbroek and Zwartsluis.

Another possibility for finding ancestors in Genemuiden is a book called:

"Oude Families uit Genemuiden 44 genealogieën uit de 17e en 18e eeuw" by H. W. Hammer

This book is available in the Family History Library in Salt Lake City; call number 949.223/G2 D2h as well as on fiche: FHL INTL Fiche 6001922

Research Tools


Emigration from Overijssel

People from Overijssel have always migrated across the border into Germany. In the middle of the nineteenth century, many members of the seceder church followed Albertus van Raalte and Anthony Brummelkamp’s advise to emigrate to the United States. Most of them ended up in Michigan. Another emigration wave followed at the end of the nineteenth century. The Overijssel Historical Center has compiled a database of Overijssel emigrants.


Overijssel in kaart. Website with historical maps of Overijssel. Select ‘Zoeken’, fill in the name of the town or cartographer you’re looking for and click ‘Zoeken’.

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here)

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Things you can do

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 20:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,138 times.