Oving, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes  

Oving, Sussex
Oving St+Andrew West+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Box and Stockbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OVING, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, West division of Sussex, 2½ miles East from Chichester.[1]


Oving St Andrew is an extensive Ancient Parish immediately to the east of Chichester and included Coleworth Portfield and Colworth in the parish boundary.

Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Oving St Andrew

The Parish church of St Andrew has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also Oving West Sussex Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhampnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Oving, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Oving, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1561-1877 1561-1876
PRTS 1561-1888
1561-1900
1561-1876

Portfield registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Portfield Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1871-1876 1871-1876
PRTS 1871-1901
1871-1901
1871-1901



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Oving

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Protestation Returns

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) has 89 protestation returns from 1641 in its database.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England Adapted 28 May 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 779 times.