Ovingdean, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes  

Ovingdean, Sussex
Ovingdean St+Wulfran East+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Yournsmere
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Newhaven PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OVINGDEAN, a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Younsmere, rape of Lewes, East division of Sussex, three miles East by South from Brighton.[1]



Ovingdean is a former agricultural village which became absorbed into the growing borough of Brighton, East Sussex in 1928 and is now part of the city of Brighton and Hove. Ovingdean Wikipedia

Ovingdean St Wulfran is an Ancient Parish neigbouring Brighton St Nicholas, Sussex and Rottingdean, Sussex

The church of St Wulfran has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Ovingdean St Wulfram

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)Ovingdean St Wulfram

The parish of Whitehawk was formed from this parish Whitehawk Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Other places of worship in Whitehawk include St Cuthman (Anglican)St Cuthman Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) St David's Mission Hall St Louis, King of France (Roman Catholic)St Louis Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Whitehawk is a suburb east of Brighton in the city of city of Brighton and Hove Whitehawk Wikipedia

See also list of places of worship in Brighton and Hove Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Ovingdean, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Ovingdean, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1607-1719, 1880-1882
1606-1719

IGI 1606-1639, 1686-1887 1719-1880
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ovingdean

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

See also Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)]Ovingdean for census entries in the online database.

Poor Law Unions

Newhaven Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical dictionary of England (1848). Adapted 23 May 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 769 times.