Ovingham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Ovingham, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ovingham, Northumberland
St Mary's Church, Ovingham Northumberland.jpg
St Mary's Church, Ovingham Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Castle Ward; Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Church History

OVINGHAM (St. Mary), a parish, partly in the union of Hexham, and partly in that of Castle ward, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland. The Wesleyans, Independents, and Presbyterians have places of worship.[1]

Additional information:

Ovingham St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and was consecrated about the year 1050. It is thought that it was built on the site of an even earlier Christian meeting place marked by a standing cross, a fragment of which is under the church pulpit. The building has three distinct architectural styles - a Saxon tower, a Norman doorway and early English Nave and Chancel. The registers date from 1679. Part of the former vicarage, located to the south of the church, dates from around 1378. In 1823 a Chapel of Ease dedicated to St George was built in the village of Mickley and this became a distinct parish in 1867. Ovingham Parish was further subdivided with the formation of the parishes of Prudhoe, St Mary Magdalene in 1880 and Wylam, St Oswin in 1886.

Other places in the parish include: Broomley, Wylam, Dukers Hagg, Dukes Hagg, Eltringham, Harlow Hill, Hedley, Hedley-on-the-Hill, Hedley Woodlands, Hedley Woodside, Horsley, Horsley near Wylam, Nafferton, Ovington, Prudhoe, Prudhoe Castle, Rouchester, Rudchester, Spital, Spittle, Welton, Whittle, and Duke's Hagg.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

 Parish Registers

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/203 Date: 1762-1869  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Ovingham, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1679-1928, marriages 1679-1999 and burials 1680-1913 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1679-1812 and marriages 1679-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1679-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1679-1812 for Ovingham are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions is available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept and the Northumberland and Durham FHS have published these on fiche (microfiche TN97).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,094 times.