Owen County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Owen County
Guide to Owen County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Owen County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | December 21, 1818 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Spencer | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Owen County Courthouse Main Street PO Box 146 Spencer, IN 47460 Phone: 812.829.5015 Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Owen County, Indiana was formed 1 Jan 1819 from Daviess and Sullivan Counties.
The first county seat was to be on land owned by John Dunn on the bend of White River, but this was quickly relocated to a new location across the river from the land of John Bartholemew. This new site, which became known as Spencer, was approved by the county commissioners at a meeting at John Dunn's house on 12 Feb 1820.
Owen County was named for Abraham Owen, a Kentucky officer who was killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe. Some sources refer to him as a colonel, but Blanchard's 1884 county history refers to him as Major Abraham Owen.
The county seat, Spencer, derives its name from a Captain Spencer, a Kentucky soldier who was also killed in the same battle.=
Parent County
1818--Owen County was created 21 December 1818 from Daviess and Sullivan Counties.
County seat: Spencer [1]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Townships
The county's original townships were Washington, Franklin, and Montgomery. Various changes were made to townships and township boundaries over the years. Owen County's current townships are as follows:
- Clay: Clay Township (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Franklin: Franklin Township (RootsWeb) | City-Data.com | Wikipedia
- Harrison: Harrison Township (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Jackson: Jackson Township History (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Jefferson: Jefferson Township (RootsWeb) | City-Data.com | Wikipedia
- Jennings:Jennings Township History (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Lafayette: Lafayette Township History (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Marion (formerly Grayson): Marion Township History (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Montgomery: Montgomery Township History (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Morgan: Morgan Township History (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
- Taylor: Taylor Township (RootsWeb) | City-Data.com | Facebook | Wikipedia
- Washington: Washington Township History (RootsWeb) | Facebook | Wikipedia
- Wayne: Wayne Township (RootsWeb) | Wikipedia
See also:
- Townships and Township Lists (Owen Co. IN GenWeb)
Populated Places
- Gosport: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Spencer (county seat): official site | ePodunk | Wikipedia
Unincorporated:
- Coal City
- Freedom
- Patricksburg
- Quincy
See also:
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Cemeteries (scroll down for list; Owen County Places and People)
- Find A Grave: Owen County, Indiana
- Madaris . . . Buried in Owen County, Indiana Cemeteries
- Owen County Cemeteries (ePodunk)
- Owen County, IN Cemeteries (IN Home Town Locator)
Census Records
For tips on accessing Owen County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
1820
- 1820 census transcription (USGenWeb Archives)
1880
- Defective, Dependent, & Delinquent Census for Owen County (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
- Churches (Owen County INGenWeb)
Court Records
- Owen County Court Records, 1863-1897 (IN Historical Society)
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Owen County, Indiana (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies and Biographies
- Biographies (Owen Co. IN GenWeb)
- Combs &c Families of Owen Co., IN
- Family Trees Index (Owen Co. IN GenWeb)
- Marion Dale ("Pete") Ranard of Owen County, Indiana (Genealogy.com)
- Owen County Biographies (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Owen County Diaries (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Owen County, Indiana Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
History
Local Histories
- Blanchard, Charles, ed. Counties of Clay and Owen, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. Chicago: F.A. Battey ompany, 1884. Digital copy in Google Books; may be downloaded in pdf or epub formats. Digital copy in Internet Archive; may be read online or downloaded in several formats.
- History (Owen County INGenWeb)
- History of Owen County (Owen County Online)
- Owen County, Indiana. Town and Country Publishing Company, 1977.
- Owen County, Indiana: A History. Owen County Historical and Genealogical Society, 1994.
- Peterson, Roger. "General History of Owen County, Indiana." (OCHGS site)
Land and Property
- Bureau of Land Management, General Land Office (Owen County land patents can be searched and retrieved online)
- Deeds (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Owen County Deeds(USGenWeb Archives)
- Plat Book of Owen County, Indiana. W.W. Hixson & Company, 192?.
Maps
- Family Maps of Owen County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Owen County Maps (bibliography from IN State Library)
Miscellaneous
- Directories (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Funeral Homes (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Owen County Directories (USGenWeb Archives)
- Owen County Photographs (USGenWeb Archives)
Military Records
War of 1812
- Military (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Owen County Military (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Veterans in Owen County, Indiana (1913)($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Military Service of Residents of Owen County (1775-1848) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War servicemen from Owen County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Owen County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company C
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company F
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company H
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company H
- 14th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 18th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 19th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 31st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 52nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company E
- 57th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 59th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies f, and B
- 82nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 85th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 97th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and H
- 130th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 137th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
- 144th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 149th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and D
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Resources:
- Burns, Judi,Honorable Careers of Seven Brothers (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Civil War Diaries of Robert Thomas McKee (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Company B, Twenty-First Indiana First Heavy Artillery (under Owen County Military, USGenWeb Archives)
- John P. McKee Civil War Pension Papers (in Greene County-related site)
- Robert Thomas McKee Civil War Pension Papers (in Greene County-related site)
- Vincent Anderson War Diary (with index) (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Vincent Anderson War Diary (with index) (USGenWeb Archives)
- Zollinger, Vivian, ed., "'I Take My Pen in Hand:' Civil War Letters from Owen County Indiana," Indiana Magazine of History, Vol. 93, No. 2 (June 1997, pp. 111-196 [various Owen County soldiers, Owen County 135h, 14th, 19th, 21st, 59th, 97th, 149th Indiana Volunteer Infantries, 1861-1865]. Abstract and bibliographic citation | article (pdf)
World War I
World War II
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- Express News, Gosport (current newspaper for Owen, Morgan, and Monroe Cos.)
- Newspapers (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Obituaries (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Obituaries (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Owen County Newspapers (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Spencer Evening World (current newspaper)
Obituaries
Probate Records
- Wills (Owen County INGenWeb)
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Owen County Courthouse
Main Street PO Box 146
Spencer, IN 47460
Phone: 812.829.5015
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage and court records from 1819, divorce records from 1832 and probate records from1833.
County Recorder has land records from 1819.[2]
Family History Centers
Societies and Libraries
- Owen County, Indiana Historical and Genealogical Society
- Owen County, Indiana Public Library
- Ten O'Clock Line Treaty Museum, Gosport
Museums
Taxation
Vital Records
Births Records
- Births (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Owen County, Indiana Births 1880-1882 (Genealogy Trails)
Marriages Records
Blanchard's 1884 county history mentions that the first wedding in the county was a double wedding that predates the recording of marriages in the county record books. This was the marriage of two daughters of Philip Hart to James Bigger and Thomas Allen. The date of this marriage is unknown. The first recorded marriage is dated 4 Oct 1819.
- Franklin, Charles M. Owen County, Indiana Marriages, 1819-1844. Indianapolis: Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe, 1979. Digital copy in Internet Archive (can be read online or downloaded in several formats).
- Index to Owen County, Indiana Marriage Records, 1819-1920. Spencer, Indiana: Owen County Historical & Genealogical Society, [2000?].
- Marriages (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Marriages (USGenWeb Archives)
- Owen County, Indiana Marriage Record 1819-1849. (No further information). Digital copy in Internet Archive (can be read online or downloaded in several formats).
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892-Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992-FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959-FamilySearch
Deaths Records
- Deaths (Owen County INGenWeb)
- Funeral Parlor Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Voter Registration
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Genealogy (Owen County Public Library)
- Owen County (contacts, from Indiana Historical Society)
- Owen County (Crossroads of America: Early Indiana History)
- Owen County (family history resources, from Indiana State Library)
- Owen County (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Owen County InGenWeb Project
- Owen County, Indiana (County History Preservation Society)
- Owen County, Indiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Owen County, Indiana (official government site)
- Owen County, Indiana (RootsWeb)
- Owen County, Indiana (Wikipedia)
- Owen County, Indiana Ancestry & Family History (ePodunk)
- Owen County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Owen County, Indiana Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Owen County, Indiana Genealogy Links (GenealogyLinks.net)
- Owen County, Indiana History, Records, Facts, and Genealogy (n2genealogy)
- Owen County, Indiana Longs and Other Matters (Genealogy & History Notes)
- Owen County Interlink
- Owen County Online
- Owen County USGenWeb Archives
- Profile for Owen County, Indiana (ePodunk)
- Spencer, Indiana: The Official Website of the Town of Spencer, Indiana
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Owen County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:55.
- This page has been accessed 3,631 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
