Owsley County, KentuckyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kentucky
Owsley County
Guide to Owsley County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Owsley County, Kentucky | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Kentucky | |||||||||
![]() Location of Kentucky in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | January 23, 1843 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Booneville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Owsley County Kentucky Courthouse
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| | |||||
Owsley County Courthouse.
154 Main Street
Booneville, KY 41314
Phone:. 606.593.5735[1]
Owsley County Kentucky History
Parent County
1843--Owsley County was created 23 January 1843 from Clay, Estill and Breathitt Counties. County seat: Booneville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1929, 1967--Disasters destroyed most of the records.
Owsley County Kentucky Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Arnett | Eversole | Mistletoe | Stay |
| Blake | Island City | Pebworth | Sturgeon |
| Booneville | Lerose | Ricetown | Taft |
| Chestnut Gap | Levi | Scoville | Travellers Rest |
| Conkling | Lucky Fork | Sebastian | Vincent |
| Cowcreek | Major | Southfork | Whoopflarea |
| Endee |
Neighboring Counties
Owsley County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
African American Research
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- The KY African American Griots Project ~ The Kentucky African American Griots Project
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Kentucky Minorities has information specific to Kentucky African Americans.
Biographies
- KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
Cemeteries
Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Owsley Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- The KY Historical Society’s Cemetery Database
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Naming the Forgotten ~ Naming the Forgotten - The Eastern State Hospital Project
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Owsley County and links to the information for the individuals buried there,
- The Family History Library Catalog may list some records of cemeteries in Owsley County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Owsley County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
- Lerose Cemetery, Owsley County Kentucky.
- Owsley County, Kentucky Cemeteries.
- Cemeteries of Owsley County, Kentucky.
- The Political Graveyard.
- Cemeteries. Callahan, Griffith, Horn Hill, King, Lerose, McIntosh, Morris, Noble, Pendergrass, Shepherd, Wilson.
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 3,774 | — |
| 1860 | 5,335 | 41.4% |
| 1870 | 3,889 | −27.1% |
| 1880 | 4,942 | 27.1% |
| 1890 | 5,975 | 20.9% |
| 1900 | 6,874 | 15.0% |
| 1910 | 7,979 | 16.1% |
| 1920 | 7,820 | −2.0% |
| 1930 | 7,223 | −7.6% |
| 1940 | 8,957 | 24.0% |
| 1950 | 7,324 | −18.2% |
| 1960 | 5,369 | −26.7% |
| 1970 | 5,023 | −6.4% |
| 1980 | 5,709 | 13.7% |
| 1990 | 5,036 | −11.8% |
| 2000 | 4,858 | −3.5% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Owsley County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
- United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850.
- United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1850.
- United States Census, 1850.
- United States Census, 1860.
- 1860 Owsley County, Kentucky Slave Schedule.
- United States Census, 1870.
- United States Census, 1880.
- United States Census, 1900.
Church
- Owsley County, Kentucky Churches.
- Kentucky Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in the Diocese of Lexington
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Louisville
Court
- Abstracts of Early KY Court Cases Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research & Reference
Land
- The KY Land Office
- Many Land records for Owsley County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Local Histories
Maps
- KYGenWeb compiled list of maps
- Click on the county to go to the KYGenWeb site
- Owsley County, Kentucky Atlas & Gazetteer.
- Owsley County, Kentucky Map.
Military
- Military Resources ~ Revolutionary War through Civil War
- Korean War Memorial Korean War Memorial for Soliders from KY ~ KYGenWeb
- Fallen Soldiers in WWI from KY ~ Fallen Soldiers in WWI from Kentucky
- Owsley County Pensioners on the Roll in 1883.
- Civil War Soldiers & Sailors System.
- U. S. Civil War Soldiers, 1861-1865. $
- Owsley County, Kentucky World War II Casualties Army and Airforce.
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918. $
- World War II Draft Registraion Cards, 1942. $
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946. $
Miscellaneous
- Kentucky Postcards ~ The USGenWeb Archives Penny Postcard Project
- The KYGenWeb Footsteps ~ The Kentucky Footsteps Archives ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
Newspapers
- Kentucky News - Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Another Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Kentucky Newspapers on Microfilm - Kentucky Newspapers Available On Microfilm
Obituaries
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
Probate
Schools
- Schools. Anglin, Bee Branch, Bethelehem, Bradshaw, Cortland, Fish Creek, Highland, Indian Creek, Lerose, Leroy, Moores, Riverside, Rockhouse, Royal Oak, Walnut Grove.
Taxation
- Many Land records for Owsley County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Vital Records
Birth
- 1852-1910 - Kentucky Birth Records, 1852-1910. $
- 1852-1859 - Owsley County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517861 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1852 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1852 Vital Statistics Births.
- 1854 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1854 Vital Statistics Births.
- 1874 - Owsley County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517862 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1876 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1876 Vital Statistics Births.
- 1877 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1877 Vital Statistics Births. (Partial listing).
- 1907 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1907 Vital Statistics Births.
- 1908 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1908 Vital Statistics Births.
- 1909 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1909 Vital Statistics Births.
- 1911-1920 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1911-1920 Birth Index.
- 1911-1999 - Kentucky Birth Index, 1911-1999. $
Marriage
- 1797-1865 - Kentucky Marriages, 1797-1865. $
- 1831-1954 - Owsley County, Kentucky Marriages 1831-1954.
- 1851-1900 - Kentucky Marriages, 1851-1900. $
- 1852-1859 - Owsley County Marriage Index 1852-1859. Batch M517861 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1852-1914 - Kentucky Marriages Records, 1852-1914. $
- 1853 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1853 Vital Statistics Marriage.
- 1854 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1854 Vital Statistics Marriage.
- 1858 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1858 Vital Statistics Marriage.
- 1859 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1859 Vital Statistics Marriage. (Though the film labels these marriages as 1859 they're dated 1858).
- 1876-1879 - Owsley County Marriage Index 1876-1879. Batch M517863 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1876 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1876 Vital Statistics Marriage.
- 1877 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1877 Vital Statistics Marriage.
- 1878 - Owsley County, Kentucky 1878 Vital Statistics Marriage.
- 1973-1999 - Kentucky Marriage Index, 1973-1999. $
Death
- Owsley County Deaths, 1911-1946.
- Kentucky Death Records, 1852-1953. $
- Kentucky Death Index, 1911-2000. $
Owsley County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Owsley County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- Owsley County KYGenWeb
- Owsley County USGenWeb Archives/
- KYGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for each county. Select the county.
- State of Kencucky Website
- USGenWeb Kentucky Archives ~ Kentucky in the USGenWeb Archives ~ Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- The USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Owsley County, Kentucky Genealogy.
- Tim & Valorie's Owsley County Kentucky Archives.
- Owsley County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Owsley County Kentucky Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Owsley County, Kentucky page 274, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 March 2013, at 21:27.
- This page has been accessed 3,547 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


