Owthorpe, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Owthorpe, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Owthorpe St Margaret Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1731|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
OWTHORPE (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union, and S. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Nottingham. This parish is situated to the north-east of the road between Nottingham and Melton-Mowbray.
Owthorpe St Margaret is an Ancient parish.
Owthorpe St Margaret has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Owthorpe Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Owthorpe St Margaret parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|OWTHORPE PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1731-1902 Marriages 1734-1977 Burials 1731-1902 Bishop’s Transcripts 1605-1851
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Owthorpe
Owthorpe - St. Margaret. Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions inside and outside the Church, dated from 1659, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age at death. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 63, pages 19-21, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Owthorpe. Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1712, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref. DD/TS 19/25, and transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol. 64, page 19, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, Oxenwood', A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 00:41.
- This page has been accessed 1,431 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More