Oxborough, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Oxborough, Norfolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Oxborough, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Oxborough, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Greenhoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Swaffham PLU
Registration District Swaffham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cranwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OXBOROUGH (St. John the Evangelist), a parish, in the union of Swaffham, hundred of South Greenhoe, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Stoke-Ferry. [1]

Oxborough St John is an ancient parish in Norfolk. Within the parish lies Oxborugh Hall home to the Bedingfield family to this day. The family chapel to the church is now the church following the events of 1948.

In 1948, the tower and spire of St. Johns collapsed onto the church below, destroying the south side of the nave. This was due to the weight of the bells, coupled with high winds. The south chapel contains a rare terracotta tomb, which was undamaged in the collapse. This tomb is unique in England, and is evidence of the Roman Catholicism of the Bedingfeld family.

Church Records

Oxborough, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Norfolk Parish Registers Browse (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[8]
Oxborough, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1743

FMP 1538-1998 1538-1947 1538-1985
FREG 1538-1743, 1812-1907
1538-1743, 1754-1812
1538-1743, 1813-1906
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1907 Undefined 1538-1904 Undefined 1538-1906
IGI 1538-1743
JOIN
1727-1837

NTA 1726-1812
1727-1812
1725-1811

Known Issues

Norfolk 2 parishes have been "swapped" in FamilySearch's image collection the banns books and banns/marriage registers for Cockley Cley and Oxburgh are viewable but not in the correct parish. If examined closely they are identified as Oxburgh and "Cley" on record covers.

Future engineering will correct this image arrangement.

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438860.


Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Swaffham

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 500-503. Date accessed:06 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Parish Registers Browse', findmypast, accessed 31 July 2015.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  8. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 July 2015, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,418 times.