Oxford County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Oxford County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Oxford County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Oxford County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Oxford County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded March 4, 1805
County Seat South Paris
Courthouse
Address Oxford County Courthouse
26 Western Ave
PO Box 179
South Paris, ME 04281
Phone:. 207.743.6359
Oxford County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
Clerk Courts has marriage records1877-1897, divorce and court records from 1930, probate and land records from 1805. [1]

History

Parent County

Created 4 March 1805 from Cumberland and York counties. [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

MaineNew HampshireQuebecOxford CountyFranklin CountySomerset CountyAndroscoggin CountyCumberland CountyYork CountyCarroll CountyCoos CountyPorterHiramBrownfieldDenmarkFryeburgSwedenLovellStowStonehamWaterfordAlbany TownshipMason TownshipBatchelders GrantGileadRiley TownshipGrafton TownshipUptonC SurplusTownship CRichardsontown TownshipMagalloway PlantationLincoln PlantationAdamstown TownshipLower Cupsuptic TownshipParkertown TownshipLynchtown TownshipUpper Cupsuptic TownshipOxbow TownshipParmachenee TownshipBowmantown TownshipByronAndover North Surplus TownshipAndover West Surplus TownshipAndoverRoxburyNewryHanoverBethelRumfordMexicoMilton TownshipDixfieldPeruCantonHartfordSumnerWoodstockGreenwoodWest ParisNorwayParisBuckfieldHebronOxfordOtisfieldParsonsfieldCornishLimingtonStandishBaldwinSebagoNaplesBridgtonHarrisonCascoRaymondFrye IslandGorhamWindhamPortlandFalmouthLong IslandChebeague IslandCumberlandYarmouthNorth YarmouthGrayNew GloucesterPownalFreeportDurhamAuburnPolandMechanic FallsMinotLisbonLewistonGreeneTurnerLeedsLivermoreLivermore FallsJayChestervilleFarmingtonWiltonCarthageWashington TownshipPerkins TownshipTempleWeldAvonStrongNew VineyardNew PortlandFreeman TownshipSalem TownshipPhillipsTownship 6 North of Weld (formerly Berlin)Township DTownship EMadrid TownshipRangeley PlantationSandy River PlantationMount Abram TownshipKingfieldCarrabassett ValleyRedington TownshipDallas PlantationRangeleyDavis TownshipLang TownshipCoplin PlantationWyman TownshipEustisTim Pond TownshipStetsontown TownshipSeven Ponds TownshipAlder Stream TownshipJim Pond TownshipKibby TownshipChain of Ponds TownshipMassachusetts GoreLexingtonHighlandCarrying Place Town TownshipDead River TownshipBigelow TownshipFlagstaff TownshipTownship 3 R4Pierce Pond TownshipLower Enchanted TownshipTownship 3 R5King and Bartlett TownshipEffinghamOssipeeFreedomEatonMadisonConwayAlbanyHale's LocationBartlettChathamJacksonBean's PurchaseGreen's GrantMartin's LocationShelburneGorhamSuccessBerlinMilanCambridgeDummerErrolWentworth's LocationSecond College GrantDix's GrantClarksvilleAtkinson and Gilmanton Academy GrantPittsburgChartiervilleNotre-Dame-des-BoisSaint-Augustin-de-Woburn
Modern town borders in Oxford County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Towns

Plantations:  Lincoln Plantation | Magalloway Plantation. For further details see Maine plantations.

Extinct Towns and Plantations:[2]  Albany | Andover North Surplus Plantation | Batchelder's Grant Plantation | Franklin Plantation | Fryeburg Academy Grant Plantation | Grafton | Mason | Milton Plantation | Riley Plantation | Usher[3]

Unorganized territories.  For further details see Maine townships.

  • Milton Township
  • North Oxford
    • TA R1 Riley Township
    • TA R2 Grafton Township
    • Andover North Surplus
    • Andover West Surplus
    • Township C
    • C Surplus
    • T4 R1 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Richardsontown Township)
    • T4 R2 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Adamstown Township)
    • T4 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lower Cupsuptic Township)
    • T5 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Parkertown Township)
    • T4 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Upper Cupsuptic Township)
    • T5 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lynchtown Township)
    • T4 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Oxbow Township)
    • T5 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Parmachenee Township)
    • T4 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Bowmantown Township)
  • South Oxford

Communities

  • Dixfield
  • Fryeburg
  • Mexico
  • Norway
  • Oxford
  • Rumford
  • South Paris

Villages   • Dickvale          • North Waterford          • Waterford Flat

Neighboring Counties:  Androscoggin | Cumberland | Franklin | York | New Hampshire counties: Carroll | Coös | Quebec county: Compton

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Hatcher, Patricia Law. "My Ancestor Isn't In the Census: The 9,603 Missing Oxford County Residents In 1810," Maine Genealogist, May 1998, 65-68. Available at FHL  Article includes a chart of the towns missing from the census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Oxford County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Oxford County, Maine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Oxford County, Maine:

- 1st Regiment, Maine Infantry , Company G
- 1st Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry , Company I

Newspapers

Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png
Early Maine newspapers routinely reported on news, obituaries, births, marriages etc. from around the state. Be sure to search the indexes for all Maine newspapers to find your target ancestor.
Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oxford County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at [1]

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oxford County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Before an extinct town or plantation was discontinued, it created official records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 107. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 August 2014, at 17:16.
  • This page has been accessed 9,352 times.