Oxted, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSurrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Oxted, Surrey
Oxted St+Mary+the+Virgin Surrey.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tandridge
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Godstone PLU
Registration District Godstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ewell
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Oxted (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Godstone, First division of the hundred of Tandridge, E. division of Surrey, 2½ miles (E. by N.) from Godstone.[1]

Resources

Church records

Online Oxted, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1613
1655
1603
Indexes 1613-1682
1705-1875
FamilySearch[2] 1655-1678
1705-1876
FamilySearch[3] 1603-1840 FindMyPast[4]
1655-1775 FindMyPast[5]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Oxted

Civil Registration

Godstone Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474664.



Poor Law Unions

A parish workhouse existed in the parish in the 1790's; an index for the parish records has been prepared by volunteers at the Surrey History Centre, 130 Goldsworth Road, Woking, Surrey GU21 6ND ref(BG5/55/1-14)

Godstone Poor Law Union,Surrey

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation


See also

Oxted Wikipedia

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2014.
  2. Batches C015352, C015353, P015351, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batches M015351, M015353, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,913 times.