Paddington St James, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Paddington St James, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here's a list of District Churches and Chapels in Pre-1900 Paddington.

Paddington St James, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Kensington; Paddington PLU
Registration District Kensington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1655
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Paddington St James. The present parish church was completed in 1843, and is a handsome building in the pointed style, with a tower and spire. it is dedicated to St. James. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]


St James Paddington (registers began 1655), a metropolitan parish and two sub-districts, in Kensington district, Middlesex, 3½ miles west by northwest St. Pauls Cathedral, London. This parish includes the hamlet of Bayswater, and Craven-Hill, Maida-Hill, and Westbourne-Green.[2]

Additional information: 

The Victoria County History of Paddington (1989) is available online. It includes chapters on manors, estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, Greek Orthodox Church, Judaism, education, and charities for the poor.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Paddington St James Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1655
1655
1655
Images
1655-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1754-1921 Ancestry[6] . Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1655-1875 FamilySearch[8] 1630 BritishOrigins[9]
1656-1875 FamilySearch[10]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

1841 Census returns for Paddington are missing.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 087787.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Paddington Manor (1200-1869). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Paddington on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 February 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 February 2014.
  3. British History Online A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 9: Hampstead, Paddington (1989). Adapted. Date accessed: Date accessed: 08 February 2014.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St James, Paddington in Westminster Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Paddington St James in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Paddington St James in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C079031-C079032, C133432, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  9. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  10. Batches M079031, M079032, M079033, M079034, M079035, M079036, M079037, M079038, M079039, M133431, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:39.
  • This page has been accessed 4,675 times.