Paddington St Mary, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Paddington St Mary, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here's a list of District Churches and Chapels in Pre-1900 Paddington.

Paddington St Mary, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Kensington; Paddington PLU
Registration District Kensington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1790
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1700 - Court of the Royal Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster; Post-1699 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Paddington St James. The present parish church was completed in 1843, and is a handsome building in the pointed style, with a tower and spire. it is dedicated to St. James. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:


St Mary Paddington was originally built as a chapel of ease to help with the growth in population in the St James Paddington Parish. It was created and functioning by the year 1790.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Paddington St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
1790-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1865-1906 Ancestry[3] 1870-1921 Ancestry[4] 1843 Ancestry[5]
Indexes     1802-1837 Ancestry[6]    

Is Paddington St Mary Magdalene the same parish?

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1841 Census returns for Paddington are missing.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 087787.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Paddington on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 February 2014.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Paddington Green in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Paddington St Mary Magdalene in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Paddington St Mary Magdalene in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Paddington St Mary Magdalene in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 16:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,282 times.