Paddlesworth (near Snodland), KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Paddlesworth (near Snodland), Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Paddlesworth (near Snodland), Kent
Paddlesworth St Benedict Kent.jpg
Paddlesworth St Benedict Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loningborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Paddlesworth St Benedict is a redundant Anglican Church in the village of Paddlesworth near Snodland. The building is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust and is designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building. British listed building

Churches Conservation Trust

Paddlesworth became an extra parochial place when the church closed in 1678; the small settlement around the 11th century church was wiped out in 1349 by the Black Death.

The church building was used for agricultural building before 1935 when it was restored as a church. Further restoration has since taken place to preserve it.

It stands on the Pilgrim's way used by travellers from Winchester Cathedral to the shrine at Canterbury Cathedral.St Benedict's Church Paddlesworth

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 471-473. Date accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Paddlesworth near Snodland should not be confused with Paddlesworth (near Folkstone), Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Paddlesworth (near Snodland)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Census records

Census returns for Snodland and Paddlesworth, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

PADDLESWORTH, an ancient parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 6¼ miles (S. W.) from Rochester; united at an early period to that of Snodland. [1]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 24 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,298 times.