Padiham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Padiham, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Padiham, Lancashire
Padiham St Leonard contributor Dr Neil Clifton.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Burnley PLU
Registration District Burnley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

PADIHAM, a township with a chapel, in the parish of Whalley, union of Burnley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 3 miles west by north of Burnley. The parochial chapelry of Padiham comprises the townships or places of Padiham, Dunnockshaw, Hapton, Heyhouses, Higham, Read, Simonstone, and Westclose Booth. The chapel, dedicated to St. Leonard, was partly rebuilt in 1776. Other places in the parish include: Hapton, Simonstone, Higham with West Close Booth, and Higham. At Heyhouses is another chapel within the parish, built in 1841. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Padiham chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index


PADIHAM ST LEONARD Chapelry  (1573) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1879 1573-1839 1609-1839
LOPC 1573-1653, 1663-1789, 1791-1839, 1847-1873, 1887-1901, 1905-1922 1573-1653, 1663-1789, 1793-1839, 1867-1893 1573-1652, 1663-1789, 1791-1907, 1923-1945, 1996-2010
LBMD 1837-1957 1837-1982 1837-1957
FMP None 1573-1653
None
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1573-1653
1573-1653
1573-1653
FREG 1573-1653
1573-1653
1573-1652
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS(ancient parish containing PADIHAM Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Padiham and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306898.


Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 525-530. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,709 times.