Page County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Page County

Guide to Page County Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Page County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Page County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: 1847
County Seat Clarinda
Courthouse
Page County Courthouse.jpg


Contents

County Courthouse

History

Dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1880
1866
1880
1838
For earlier dates, try...Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | Parent County
  • Page County, Iowa is named in honor of Captain John Page of the 4th U.S. Infantry, who was mortally wounded in the battle of Palo Alto during the Mexican American War.

Parent County

1847--Page County was created 24 February 1847 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Appanoose County prior to organization 22 March 1852. County seat:  Clarinda [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1858 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams  • Fremont  • Mills  • Montgomery  • Taylor  • Atchison County, Missouri  • Nodaway County, Missouri

Page CountyTaylor CountyFremont CountyMills CountyMontgomery CountyAdams CountyPottawattamie CountyCass CountyAdair CountyUnion CountyRinggold CountyAtchison CountyNodaway CountyWorth CountyGentry CountyHolt CountyDouglas CountySarpy CountyCass CountyOtoe CountyNemaha CountyJohnson CountyRichardson CountyPawnee CountyIAPage.JPG

Resources

Getting Started

Research Guides

African American

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Iowa African Americans

Biographies

Cemeteries

  • Find A Grave has Page County cemeteries with some headstone pictures. If yours isn't among the photographs you can request to have one taken and posted.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850551
18604,419702.0%
18709,975125.7%
188019,66797.2%
189021,3418.5%
190024,18713.3%
191024,002−0.8%
192024,1370.6%
193025,9047.3%
194024,887−3.9%
195023,921−3.9%
196021,023−12.1%
197018,537−11.8%
198019,0632.8%
199016,870−11.5%
200016,9760.6%
201015,932−6.1%
  • An article about the Federal and State Census Records that exist for Iowa. Iowa Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Court

Genealogy

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

  • Iowa Page County Recorder's Office has property and misc. records dating back to 1838. Genealogy research is not performed by the Page County Recorder’s office. However, this office has land and vital records that are open to the public.

Law and Legislation

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Page County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Page County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Page County, Iowa:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Page County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Obituaries

Periodicals

Prisions

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Adair - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Birth
Marriages
Deaths

Family History Centers

  • Shenandoah Iowa Family History Center 507 E Pioneer Ave Shenandoah, Ia 51601 Phone:1-712-246-4491 Hours T 1pm-4pm; W 7pm-9pm; Th 10am-3pm.; Closures: Closed the last two weeks in December.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • Nodaway Valley Historical Museum
    1600 South 16th Street
    PO Box 393
    Clarinda, Iowa 51632
    Phone: 1-712-542-3073
    E-mail: nvm@iowatelecom.net
    Hours:
    Mondays: Closed Tuesdays: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. Wednesday-Sunday: 1-4 p.m. for May thru Sept. and 2-4 p.m. for Oct. thru April. We will also open by appointment at other times for people to research.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Page County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "page county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "page county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "page county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[2] [3][4] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Page County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Page County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Page County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Page County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Page County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

|}


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 12,023 times.