Pagham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Pagham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pagham, Sussex
St Thomas a Becket Pagham West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aldwick
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pagham
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PAGHAM (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Aldwick, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S. S. E.) from Chichester contains the tythings of Aldwick, South Mundham, and Nytimber, and the hamlets of Lagness and Rosegreen. The parish is bounded on the south by the English Channel, and on the west by Pagham harbour, which is an estuary about a mile wide, formed by an irruption of the sea in the beginning of the fourteenth century. The church, which was to a great extent rebuilt in 1837, is a cruciform structure in the early English style, of considerable beauty, with a tower at the north end of the west front, surmounted by a shingled spire.[1]

For history of the church Pagham St Thomas a Becket

The parish church of St Thomas a Becket has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Pagham St Thomas a Becket

From this Ancient Parish were formed Aldwick St Richard in 1933 and Newtimber, Sussex

See also Pagham Wikipedia List of places of worship in Arun

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Pagham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
PAGHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1588-1775

IGI 1610-1876 (gaps) 1662-1875
PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1610-1618, 1662-1909
1610-1619, 1662-1901
1610-1619, 1662-1911
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

St Thomas a Becket Pagham

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1707-1978 Mar 1707-1963 Bur 1701-1969 Bishop's Transcripts 1610-1911

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Pagham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Pagham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  6. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,788 times.