Paignton, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Paignton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Totnes PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
PAIGNTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Totnes, hundred of Haytor, Paignton and S. divisions of Devon, 5¾ miles (E.) from Totnes. There is a place of worship for Independents. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Paignton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Paignton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Protestant Dissenters
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241314.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Vanstone-Pegler, Adrienne N. Captain Joseph Price 1809-1901. History and family records of Joseph Price and Ann nee Harley. He was born 1809 at Northshields, and baptised at All Saints, Newcastle upon Tyne. This appears to be a seafaring family, and Joseph's brothers and sisters are born around England. This article gives the history of Captn. Joseph Price, and his work in New Zealand, being one of the first white people to walk to Kaiapoi Pa, Canterbury, New Zealand in 1831. His work in Otago, and Canterbury is explained, and his marriage to Akarie/Catherine, and later on to Jane Scott. Other surnames mentioned are Watterreus, Waterhous, Birdling, Mason, Robb, Courtney, Maud, Rains, Robertson, Radford, Creighton. Article is dated 1809-1907, Captain Joseph Price and some of the family are buried at Hampden Cemetery Otago. Article in The Northumberland Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 32,no.1.pages 19-21, Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.32,no.1. (spring 2007)
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Paignton on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 7 August 2015, at 14:38.
- This page has been accessed 1,805 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News