Palm Beach County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Palm Beach County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United StatesGotoarrow.pngFlorida Gotoarrow.pngPalm Beach County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Palm Beach County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Palm Beach County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 30, 1909
County Seat West Palm Beach
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Denise Wells, County Coordinator
Palm Beach County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Palm Beach County Courthouse
301 N Olive Ave;
West Palm Beach, FL 33401-4705
Phone: 561.355.2754

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records. [1]

History

Like a mighty Banyan: contribution of Black people to the history of Palm Beach County. editor, Vivian Reissland Rouson-Gossett ; associate editor, C. Spencer Pompey. - Palm Beach County, FLA.: Palm Beach Junior College, [1982]. - 96 p. F317.P2 L54 1982

History Palm Beach

Index page at the Palm Beach FLGenWeb

Parent County

1909--Palm Beach County was created 30 April 1909 from Dade County.
County seat: West Palm Beach [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Palm Beach, FLGenWeb

Individual cemeteries:

Census

Census Records available onsite at the Palm Beach, FLGenWeb

For tips on accessing Palm Beach County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Palm Beach W.

Cities and Towns

Cities and Towns, Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Court

Directories

1923 Directory, Palm Beach FLGenWeb

American-Finish, 1956; Palm Beach FLGenWeb

Phone Directory of Finnish Speaking Population of Lake Worth - Lantana Area, 1978; Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb
Jupiter, 1954 Phone Book; Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Land Grants of Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Palm Beach County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Hurricanes, The Case of the Disappearing Ancestor; Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Maps

Flpalmbeach.png

Military

Military Records of Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Palm Beach County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Courtesy of The Boca Raton Historical Society Archives:

Obituaries

Obit Index of Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Obituaries of Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Death Notices and Obituaries, Genealogical Society of Palm Beach County

Sources of Obituaries in Palm Beach County, Genealogical Society of Palm Beach County

Probate

Probate records are held by the Palm Beach County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Palm Beach County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Vital Records of the Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Birth
Marriage
  • 1909-1939 - Marriages (1909-1939) of Palm  Beach Co, FLGenWeb
  • 1909-1915 - Palm Beach County Marriage Book 1 Index 1909-1915. Batch M747120 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1915-1921 - Palm Beach County Marriage Books 2-3 Index 1915-1921. Batch M747121 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1921-1928 - Palm Beach County Marriage Books 4-5 Index 1921-1928. Batch M747133 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death

Death Records of Palm Beach Co, FLGenWeb

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Genealogical Societies

Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Palm Beach County, Florida Page 136 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/3f/Igifloridamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 6,922 times.