Panola County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Panola County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Panola County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Panola County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Panola County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 9 February, 1886
County Seat Batesville
Courthouse
Address Panola County Courthouse
151 Public Sq;
Batesville, MS 38606-2220
Phone: 601.563.6205
Panola County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Panola County Courthouse
151 Public Sq;
Batesville, MS 38606-2220
Phone: 601.563.6205

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce and probate records from 1836. Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1885 and court records 1836. [1]

Beginning Dates for Panola County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1885



1836

History

Parent County

1886--Panola County was created 9 February 1836 from the the Chickasaw Cesson.
County seat: Batesville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1886--Some records were lost. For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Panola County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

Episcopal

Holy Innocents Parish, Como

  • 1881-1885 - Holy Innocents Parish, Como, Baptism Index 1881-1885. Batch C714301 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1856-1895 - Holy Innocents Parish, Como, Marriage Index 1856-1895. Batch M714301 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Methodist

Davis Chapel, Methodist Episcopal

  • 1881-1920, 1940-1944 - Davis Chapel, Methodist Episcopal Baptism Index 1881-1920, 1940-1944. Batch C714281 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Methodist Episcopal Church, Como

  • 1879-1885 - Methodist Episcopal Church, Como, Baptism Index 1879-1885. Batch C714311 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1880-1895 - Methodist Episcopal Church, Como, Marriage Index 1880-1895. Batch M714311 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1880-1900 - Methodist Episcopal Church, Como, Death Index 1880-1900. Batch B714311 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Panola County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Panola County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Panola County. 
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Panola Cavalry
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company E - Pleasant Mount Rifles
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans [Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s]
Company H - Ballentine’s Guards
Company K - Jernigan’s Company
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company D - Senatobia Opposers
- 5th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company H - Hill’s Company
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company H - Morris’ Company
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company H - Morris’ Company
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company H - Panola Guards
Company I - Senatobia Invincibles, aka Invincibles
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company E - Sardis Blues [also listed as Co. F]

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Panola County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
  • 1879-1880 - Panola County Birth Index 1879-1880. Batch C749877 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1879-1942 - Panola County Birth Index 1879-1942. Batch C714295 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
Death
  • 1879-1880 - Panola County Death Index 1879-1880. Batch B749878 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • Estates, wills, divorce cases (Panola County, Mississippi), 1880-1950 Mississippi, Probate Records are available online. Microfilm of original records at the Panola County Courthouse in Batesville, Mississippi. The Panola Chancery Court is in the 2nd Court District. Arranged by case number. Estates, wills, and divorces are filed together. Beginning with case number 1601 all files cover divorces.
Vital Record Substitutes

1894-1919 Pension rolls (Panola County, Mississippi), 1894-1919

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Panola County, Mississippi page 381, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7 3.8 3.9 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 July 2014, at 17:21.
  • This page has been accessed 6,949 times.