Par, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Par, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Par, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Austell PLU
Registration District St Austell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PAR, a seaport village and a chapelry in St. Blazey and Tywardreath parishes, Cornwall. The village stands on Tywardreath bay and on the Cornwall railway, 4¼ miles S S W of Lostwithiel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3][4]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
RW = RootsWeb - free[7]
Par, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1849-1901
1850-1908
1857-1938
FMP 1849-1901 1880s-1902
FS PRs 1849-1901 1850-1908 1857-1959
IGI 1849-1875
RW 1849-1900
1850-1906
1857-1902

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful page for research in this parish is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Par in GENUKI

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  7. St. Austell Area Parishes - Genealogy', RootsWeb, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,001 times.