Park County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngPark County

Guide to Park County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Park County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Park County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Fairplay
Courthouse
Address Park County Courthouse
501 Main Street
Fairplay, CO 80440
Phone: 719.836.2771
Park County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records 1893 and land records;
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1892-1908 [2]*
1876 [2]*
1899-1907 [2]*

1861
1861
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Fairplay [3]

Parent County

Copark.jpg
1861--Park County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county. A small part of Jefferson County was annexed in 1903.[2]

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Courtesy of the Local Historical Archives of Park County, Colorado:

Census

For tips on accessing Park County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Park County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Courtesy of The Park County Historic Preservation Advisory Committee and the Park County Local History Archives:

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Park County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Courtesy of Park County Historical Archives:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


The Colorado State Archives has put the Park County Will Records Index (1892-1925) on-line.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Park County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Park County Divorce Record 1957 - 1974
Park County School Board Oaths 1918 - 1959
Park County Will Record 1895 - 1926 & 1959 - 1976

Family History Centers
Libraries

Park County Public Library
418 Main Street
Fairplay, CO 80440
Telephone: 719-836-4299
Website http://parkcounty.colibraries.org/

Museums
Societies

Foothills Genealogical Society of Colorado, Inc.
P.O. Box 150382
Lakewood, CO 80215-0382
Telephone: 303-935-9192
http://www.foothillsgenealogy.org

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

Marriage

Donated by Lucille Brown through the Local Historical Archives, Park County, Colorado

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Divorce

The Colorado State Archives has put a name only index to the Park County Divorce Records for the period 7/30/1957 to 6/3/1974 on-line.

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Park County, Colorado. Page 100 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 4,754 times.