Parkham, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Parkham, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parkham, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shebbear
County Devon
Poor Law Union Bideford PLU
Registration District Bideford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1537
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartland
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PARKHAM (St. James), a parish, in the union of Bideford, hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 6 miles (S. W.) from Bideford. The parish is bounded on the north by the sea. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parkham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
GOOG = Google Books - free[4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
PARKHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1837

FREG 1538-1812
1711-1810
1552-1812
GOOG 1537-1812
1537-1812
1537-1812
IARC 1537-1812
1537-1812
1537-1812
IGI 1537-1812 1813-1837
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1537-1812
1537-1812
1537-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241320.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  4. John Ingle Dredge, ed., The Registers of Parkham (Exeter: Devon and Cornwall Record Society, 1906). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  5. John Ingle Dredge, ed., The Registers of Parkham (Exeter: Devon and Cornwall Record Society, 1906). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 20:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,017 times.