Parracombe, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Parracombe, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parracombe, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sherwill
County Devon
Poor Law Union Barnstaple PLU
Registration District Barnstaple
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shirwell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PARRACOMBE, a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Sherwell, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 12 miles (N. E.) from Barnstaple. The parish comprises 3791 acres, of which 1637 are common or waste land. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parracombe, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
HATHI = Hathi Trust Digital Library - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
WVR = World Vital Records - (£)[6]
Parracombe, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1597-1837

HATHI 1597-1836
1597-1836
1597-1836
IGI 1597-1836 1598-1837
PALL
1790-1837

WVR 1597-1836
1597-1836
1597-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241321.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. A.J. Skinner, ed., The Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials of the Parish of Parracombe, Devon, 1597-1836' (Exeter: Devon and Cornwall Record Society, 1917). Digitised by Hathi Trust - free.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. A.J. Skinner, ed., The Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials of the Parish of Parracombe, Devon, 1597-1836' (Exeter: Devon and Cornwall Record Society, 1917). Digitised by World Vital Records - (£).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,317 times.