Pasquotank County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Pasquotank County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pasquotank County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
|County Seat||Elizabeth City|
Pasquotank County Courthouse
206 East Main P O Box 154
Elizabeth City, NC 27907-0039
Courthouse burned 1862
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probat and court records
Registrar of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
Marriage records records from 1867 and land records from from 1700's
Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 154
Elizabeth City, NC 27907
Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 449
Elizabeth City, NC 27907-0449
Phone: (252) 331-4600
Pasquotank was formed as early as 1668 as a precinct in Albemarle County. Name derived from Indian word pasketanki, "where the current [of the stream] divides or forks." It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Albemarle Sound and Perquimans, Gates, and Camden counties. The present area is 229 square miles.... It is not known when the first courthouse was built, but from 1737 to 1757 the courthouse was at Brook Field. In 1758 it was moved to Relfe's Point. It remained there until 1762 or probably a little later. From 1765 until 1785 the courthouse was at Winfield. In 1784 the Assembly directed that it be moved to Nixonton, and from 1785 to 1800 Nixonton was the county seat. In 1799 Elizabeth (City) Town was named the county seat and on June 6, 1800, the first court was held there. Elizabeth City was first called Redding, which town was established in 1793. Redding was changed to Elizabeth Town in 1794, and Elizabeth Town was changed to Elizabeth City in 1801. It is the county seat. There is no description of the precinct when it was established.
This section quoted from Formation of the North Carolina Counties 1663-1943, by David Leroy Corbitt, pages 171-172 with later corrections; published 1996 by the NC Division of Archives and History, NC Department of Cultural Resources
... That all that part of Pasquotank County lying on the North East side of the said River [Pasquotank], and of a Line to be run from the Head of the said River a North West Course to the Virginia Line, shall be, and is hereby established a County, by the Name of Cambden.
The lines between Pasquotank and Perquimans and between Camden and Gates were ordered to be run in 1804. Because of the difficulty of establishing and marking the lines in the Dismal Swamp, they had not been previously marked.
... beginning near the fork of Little river, and running northwardly to the south-west corner of a ridge, known by the Middle Ridge, then along the west side of said ridge, crossing Colonel John Hamilton's turnpike road, to the north-west corner thereof, thence a northwardly course to a ridge in the desart known by Colonel Jesse Eason's Ridge, then a north course to the line that divides this State from the State of Virginia.
In 1818 an act was passed which authorized the boundary line between Pasquotank and Perquimans to be run and marked. No description is given in the law.
In 1909 an act was passed to define the boundary line between Pasquotank and Camden counties.
That the channel of Pasquotank River, from its mouth to its junction with the Dismal Swamp Canal, shall be the dividing line between Pasquotank and Camden counties; and the boundary line of Camden County, from the junction of the Dismal Swamp Canal and Pasquotank River to the Virginia line, shall be and remain as it now is.
Camden was formed from Pasquotank in 1777.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Guide to Research at the NC Archives (listing of original & microfilmed records)
For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
Census & Tax Records
For tips on accessing Pasquotank County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Flatty Creek aka Salem. Established by 1790.
- Knobscrook, near Elizabeth City, N.C. Established by 1786.
- Shiloh, Camden, N.C. Established 1729. Formerly located in Pasquotank County.
Church of England
- Northeast Parish.
- Pasquotank Parish. Established 1701.
- St. John's Parish. Established by 1741.
- St. Peter's Parish. Established by 1741.
- Southwest Parish.
St. John's Parish and St. Peter's Parish united in 1756.
- Book: Brief history of Christ Episcopal Church parish, Elizabeth City, N.C. (1948) - freely available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- LDS Ward and Branch Records - Elizabeth City
- Mount Lebanon. Organized about 1850. Served African Americans.
- Broshier See Lumbroso.
- Cartwright - Murphy, Lou Arden Andrews. Descendants of Peter Cartwright and his wife, Jane Morgan of Perquimans, Pasquotank & Camden Counties, N.C. : with allied families: Falkner, Redus & Parsons. Estes Park, Colo.: L.A. Murphy, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 C249m.
- de Hinojosa - Hoff, Henry B. "Alexander de Hinojosa and His Descendants in Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, No. 4 (Oct. 2004):260-273. FHL 973 D25aga v. 79
- Gadd - Russell, George Ely. "John Lumbroso Jr. (1666-1744) of Pasquotank County, North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 59, No. 1 (Jan. 1983):32. FHL 973 D25aga v. 59
- Lumbroso - Russell, George Ely. "John Lumbroso Jr. (1666-1744) of Pasquotank County, North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 59, No. 1 (Jan. 1983):32. FHL 973 D25aga v. 59
- Lumbrozo - Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
- History of Pasquotank Co., NC
- Ante-bellum Elizabeth City: the history of a canal town (1970) - book freely available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library
- Brief sketch of Pasquotank County (1963) - book freely available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company A
:- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- Pasquotank County residents in the newspaper - name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database.
- Pasquotank county newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county & libraries that hold them; via the Library of Congress.
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project - contains full-text papers from 1752-1890s. Search for your Pasquotank County ancestors.
Organizations & Links
Online Probate Records
- 1660 – 1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1979 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1665 - 1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 – 1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Pasquotank County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1720-1960 - Will Books 1 to 6 and A to U (1720-1960) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Pasquotank Co., NC Wills
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 - search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state; via FamilySearch
- 1760-1866 - Pasquotank County Marriage Bonds 1760-1866 at USGenWeb - free.
- North Carolina Marriages, 1762-1979 - search this database of marriages from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch.
- Pasquotank County marriages - may be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Pasquotank County Marriages 1790-1875 North Carolina Pioneers
- North Carolina Marriages to 1799, a database, available to members North Carolina Pioneers
- 1865-1932 - Pasquotank County Marriage Index (including Books 1-5) 1865-1932 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 - 2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1969North Carolina County Marriages 1762-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- Pasquotank county deaths - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - search a statewide collection of freely available death certificates - images are included; via FamilySearch
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - search death records from across the state; via FamilySearch
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- College of the Albemarle: 1962-1997
- Elizabeth City State University: 1925-2008
- Pasquotank County students at NC colleges - list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Family Research Society of Northeastern NC
P.O. Box 1425
Elizabeth City, NC 27906-1425
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.
- Pasquotank County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Pasquotank County - free genealogy resources; part of the USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- North Carolina Pioneers North Carolina Pioneers
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pasquotank County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:487, 491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ J.R.B. Hathaway, "The Earliest Baptist Congregation Organized in North Carolina," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):283. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), xxxiii, 414. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
- ↑ "Mount Lebanon Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 6 October 2015, at 17:57.
- This page has been accessed 17,554 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News