Passaic County, New JerseyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
New Jersey
Passaic County
Passaic County, New Jersey genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Passaic County, New Jersey | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of New Jersey | |
![]() Location of New Jersey in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 7, 1837 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Paterson |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Passaic County Courthouse 401 Grand St #130 Paterson, NJ 07505 |
Passaic County, New Jersey Historical Facts
Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.
Parent County
Boundary Changes
- 1907, part back to Essex County.
Record Loss
Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogical Resources
Bible
Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:
- Index of Surnames
- ACKERMAN Family Bible Records
- BENJAMIN / FURDUN Family Bible Records
- BURHANS Family Bible Records
- CAMPBELL Family Bible Records
- CRANE Family Bible Records
- DERROM Family Bible Records
- FORCE Family Bible Records
- GARRABRANT Family Bible Records
- GARRABRANT (James) Family Bible Records
- GOULD / VAN HOUTEN Family Bible Records
- HINCHMAN Family Bible Records
- KING Family Bible Records
- POST Family Bible Records
- POST / SPEAR Family Bible Records
- PULIS Family Bible Records
- ROMAINE Family Bible Records
- ROSE Family Bible Records
- SLINGERLAND Family Bible Records
- SMITH (Hophni) Family Bible Records
- SMITH (John) Family Bible Records
- SPEAR / HINDLE Family Bible Records
- STANLEY Family Bible Records
- STORM Family Bible Records
- VAN BLARCOM Family Bible Records
- ZABRISKIE Family Bible Records
Cemeteries
- Findagrave -- List of Cemeteries for Passaic County
- Findagrave -- Map of Cemeteries for Passaic County
- Passaic County Cemeteries -- Rootsweb
- Passaic County Cemeteries -- GenWeb
Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:
- Cemeteries Outside of Passaic County
- Acquackanonk - Old First Reformed Cemetery Plot Owners, 1850 - 1864
- Butler - Manning Avenue Cemetery - (Adobe PDF) - Manning Ave. Cemetery Map
- Cedar Grove - Cedar Grove Cemetery (CANFIELD-DOREMUS)
- Clifton - Centerville Cemetery, (Jewish)
- Oak Ridge - Oak Ridge Presbyterian Church Cemetery
- Paterson - Cedar Lawn Cemetery (narrative)
Census
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.
Court Records
Directories
Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:
- 1853 Paterson City Directory online
- Passaic County Directory Holdings ( for assistance with any item in this list contact them though their email: info@lambertcastle.org
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political. or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps
- Map of Townships in Passaic County
- Outline of Passaic County over Google Map -- Home Town Locator
Migration
Military
Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:
- Revolutionary Soldiers buried in the rear of Belleville Reformed Church, Belleville, New Jersey
- Passaic County Soldiers and Saiilors Monument
- Passaic County Soldiers for the Union
- Jerseymen for the Union, Passaic City Volunteers: A-H, I-R, S-Z
- Paterson: WW1 Veterans of the Barbour Flax Spinning Co. 1918
- Totowa Borough Veterans Memorial
- Wayne Township Veterans Memorial
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Passaic County, New Jersey newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Passaic County, New Jersey Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Occupations
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Passaic County, New Jersey Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Passaic County, New Jersey Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records
Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in:
- Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.
In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from:
Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094
Repositories
Archives
Courthouse
Passaic County Courthouse
401 Grand St #130
Paterson, NJ 07505
Phone: (973) 225-3632
County Clerk has divorce records from 1947, court records from 1900 and land records. County Surrogate has probate records. [1]
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Passaic New Jersey Family History Center
- Paterson New Jersey Family History Center
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Schools
Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:
- Passaic - High School Graduates, 1873 - 1895
- Passaic - High School Graduates, 1896 - 1908
- Passaic - High School Graduates, 1909 - 1916
- Passaic - High School Graduates, 1917 - 1921
- Paterson - Assoc. of Exempt Firemen, 1882-1892
- Paterson - Candidates for Admission to High School, 1890
- Paterson - DAR Applications, Garret A. Hobart Chapter
- Paterson - Hamilton Club, 1905 Membership Roster
- Paterson - High School Graduates, 1880
- Paterson - High School Graduates, 1903
- Paterson - High School Graduates, 1904
- Paterson - High School Graduates, 1905
- Paterson - High School Graduates, 1907
- Paterson - High School Graduates, 1909
- Paterson - High School Graduates, 1910
- Paterson - Normal School Graduates, 1905
- Paterson - Normal School Graduates, 1906
- Paterson - Old Ladies' Home of Passaic Cty., Resident List 1927-1934
- Paterson - Rambling Club, Inc., 1908
- Paterson - Riverside Athletic and Singing Club, Inc., 1933
Taxation
New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Passaic County, New Jersey Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Passaic County US GenWeb Project
- Passaic County Gen Web Archives
- Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club On-line Resources
- ancestry.com -- Search Passaic County Sources ($ ancestry.com subscription required)
- Live Roots -- Passaic County Links
- Family History Library Catalog
Passaic County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties
Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 15:40.
- This page has been accessed 2,430 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

