Patcham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Patcham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Patcham, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dean
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PATCHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Dean, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 3¼ miles (N. by W.) from Brighton. The village is on the road from London to Brighton, and the London and Brighton railway runs through the parish. The church is partly in the early and partly in the decorated English style. Within the parish is Hollingsbury encampment, near which a celt and some other antiquities were found in 1827.[1]

Patcham All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the city of Brighton and Hove East Sussex which included Withdean and Moulsecoomb.The modern parish includes Withdean, Westdene, Patcham, Hollingbury, part of Preston and many new churches within the city have affected boundary changes to the Ancient Parish.

The church has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building.

Sussex Parish Churches have a history of the church Patcham All Saints

Moulsecoomb was created from this parish Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Moulsecoomb and includes the following places of worship Former LDS Meeting House, Coldean built 1963 closed 1993 now in residential use
Holy Nativity, Bevendean Holy Nativity Bevendean Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Andrew St Andrew Moulsecoomb Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Mary Magdalene, Coldean St Mary Magdalene Coldean Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also Patcham Wikipedia and All Saints Church Patcham Wikipedia list of places of worship in Brighton and Hove Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning registration district until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Brighton & Hove The Register Office
Brighton Town Hall
Bartholomew Square
Brighton
BN1 1JA 01273 292016 01273 292019 register.office@brighton hove.gov.uk

Church records

Patcham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Patcham, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880, 1885-1893


IGI 1558-1880 1558-1880

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Patcham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Patcham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,538 times.