Patching, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Patching, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Patching, Sussex
St John the Divine Patching West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Patching
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tarring
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PATCHING, St John the Divine, a parish and hundred, in the rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (E. by S.) from Arundel. The road from Portsmouth to Brighton, by way of Arundel, passes through the parish; the surface is hilly, and the soil various. The church is in the early English style, with later additions, and was formerly much larger; it was beautified in 1835, at the expense of Sir Richard Hunter, Bart., to several members of whose family tablets have been placed in the chancel.[1]

history and images

The church of St John the Divine has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

Patching Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Patching Wikipedia List of places of worship in Arun and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Patching, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Patching, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1598-1787
1561-1886

IGI 1756-1886
PRTS 1598-1746, 1754-1889
1561-1902
1560-1658, 1684-1744, 1756-1903

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1599-1989 Marr 1561-1652, 1699-1722, 1754-1969 Bur 1560-1658,1684-1998

Bishop's Transcripts 1610-1908
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Patching

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Patcham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,062 times.