Patrington, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Patrington

Guide to Patrington, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Patrington, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holderness
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Patrington PLU
Registration District Patrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Holderness
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1570.

PATRINGTON (St. Patrick), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the S. division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York, 56 miles (E. S. E.) from York, and 189 (N. by E.) from London. There are some places of worship for dissenters. [1]

Neighboring Parishes

Parishes adjacent to PATRINGTON
Winestead
East Riding
Winestead
East Riding
Hollym
East Riding
Sunk Island
East Riding
  N  
W   E
  S  
Hollym
East Riding
Sunk Island
East Riding
Welwick
East Riding
Welwick
East Riding

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Patrington exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
PATRINGTON PARISH (1570) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1570-1731 1570-1731 1570-1731
FS 1570-1856 1732-1881 1761, 1763
IARC 1570-1731 1570-1731 1570-1731
JOIN None 1570-1731 ,1813-1837 None
NBI

1783-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464221.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire East Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 20 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 2,006 times.