Paulding County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Paulding County
Guide to Paulding County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Paulding County, Georgia_(state) | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Georgia_(state) | |
![]() Location of Georgia_(state) in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 3, 1832 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Dallas |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Paulding County Courthouse 11 Courthouse Square Dallas, GA 30132-1401 Phone: 770.445.7527 Paulding County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Paulding County Courthouse
11 Courthouse Square
Dallas, GA 30132-1401
Phone: 770.445.7527
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court reocrds
from 1876 and land records from 1848[1]
History
Local histories are available for Paulding County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- GAGenWeb Paulding History of Paulding County History of Paulding County with a timeline included.
Parent County
1832--Paulding County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County. County seat: Dallas [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
-- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
- Paulding County Resources A list of resources to help researches within Paulding County, GA.
Cemeteries
- Paulding County Cemeteries A Complete list of Cemeteries within Paulding County, GA.
- Poplar Springs Cemetery, Hiram BillionGraves
- Narroway Church Cemetery (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
Church
- GAGenWeb Paulding Churches of Paulding County Complete list of Churches within Paulding County.
- GAGenWeb Paulding Church History Church Histories Submitted by volunteers.
- Narroway Church Book (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
Court
Divorces 1885-1886 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
- GAGenWeb Paulding History of Paulding County History of Paulding County with a timeline included.
Maps
Marriages
1832-1906 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Paulding County.
- May 25-26, 1864 = New Hope Church[3]
- May 26-June 1, 1864 = Dallas, also known as New Hope Church or Pumpkinvine Creek[4]
- May 27, 1864 = Pickett's Mill, also known as New Hope or New Hope Church[5]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
- Veterans- Salute to our Veterans who serve our country through out all wars and peace-time.
- Fallen Heroes-Tribute to our Fallen Heroes who gave the ulitmate sacrifice for our freedom.
Newspapers
Legal Advertising (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills, Appraisements, Returns, Vouchers, 1855-1877 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- GAGenWeb Paulding Marriage Records Partial List of Marriage Records Submitted by volunteers.
- GAGenWeb Paulding Vital Records Partial List of Vital Records Submitted by volunteers.
- 1833-1882 - Paulding County Marriage Books 1 and B Index 1833-1882. Batch M713481 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- 1881-1891 - Paulding County Marriage Book C Index 1881-1891. Batch M713482 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- 1892-1895 - Paulding County Marriage Index 1892-1895. Batch M713483 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- 1892-1965 - Paulding County Marriage Index 1892-1965. Batch M713484 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- GAGenWeb Paulding County
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Paulding County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Paulding County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 May 2013, at 01:28.
- This page has been accessed 2,045 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

