Pawnee Indian Agency (Nebraska)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Pawnee Indian Agency (Nebraska)


The Pawnee Agency was located in Nebraska until 1875. It is now located in Oklahoma. Its supervising office in the Bureau of Indian Affairs is the Anadarko Area Office.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Pawnee

History

The Pawnee Agency was established in 1859 for the Pawnee Indians previously assigned to the Otoe Agency since 1856 and to Council Bluffs Agency prior to that. It was located at Genoa, Nebraska until 1875, when it was moved to the new Pawnee Reservation on Black Bear Creek, about 8 miles from the Arkansas River in Indian Territory.[1]

For the later history of the Pawnee Agency, after its move to Indian Territory, see Pawnee Indian Agency (Oklahoma).

Agents and Appointment Dates

James L. Gillis 1859 and 1860, Henry DePuy 1861, Benjamin F. Lushbaugh 1862, Daniel H. Wheeler 1865, John P. Becker 1866, Charles H. Whaley 1867, Jacob M. Troth 1869, William Burgess 1873, Charles H. Searing 1877, Samuel Ely 1878, A. C. Williams 1878, John C. Smith 1879, and Edward H. Bowman 1880 [2]

Records

Some of the records of the Pawnee Agency are in the National Archives Southwest Region (Ft. Worth) and the Oklahoma Historical Society in Oklahoma City[3]. Most of these records are administrative records of the agency, although there are some probate records, 1915-1940 and school census records, 1916-1945.

Letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs from the Pawnee Agency, 1859-1880, have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M234, Rolls 659-668[4]. Copies are available at the National Archives and at the Family History Library and its family history centers on their microfilm roll numbers 1661389 thru 1661398.

Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of Microcopy Number M1070. The reports for Pawnee Agency, 1873-1880, are on roll 35 of that Microcopy set[5]. Copies are available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll number 1617728).

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, p. 136.
  2. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
  3. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M234, p. 8.
  5. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1070, p. 48.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 January 2013, at 20:53.
  • This page has been accessed 858 times.