Payette County, IdahoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Idaho
Payette County, Idaho
Guide to Payette County Idaho genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Payette County, Idaho | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Idaho | |
![]() Location of Idaho in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 28, 1917 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Payette |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Payette County Courthouse 1130 3rd Avenue North Payette, ID 83661 Phone: 208- 642-6000 |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
Payette County Courthouse
1130 3rd Avenue North
Payette, ID 83661
Phone: 208- 642-6000
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1917 and military discharge records from 1919[1]
==
Parent County
1917--Payette County was created 28 February 1917 from Canyon County and was named for the French fur trapper who worked for the Hudson's Bay Company named Francois Payette. County seat: Payette [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
| |||||||||||||
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
This list of places in Payette County, Idaho was compiled from the Lists of Places in Idaho in Wikipedia and from the map of Payette County in Virtual Earth.
Resources
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Payette County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Payette[3].
Cemeteries
There are many cemeteries in Payette County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Payette County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1920 | 7,021 | ||
| 1930 | 7,318 | 4.2% | |
| 1940 | 9,511 | 30.0% | |
| 1950 | 11,921 | 25.3% | |
| 1960 | 12,363 | 3.7% | |
| 1970 | 12,401 | 0.3% | |
| 1980 | 15,722 | 26.8% | |
| 1990 | 16,434 | 4.5% | |
| 2000 | 20,578 | 25.2% | |
| sources:[4][5] | |||
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church Records
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
In 1930, Payette County was part of ___Stake. (still looking for LDS information)
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Payette County, Idaho prior to 1950.
- For original or later records, check with the Church History Library in Salt Lake City.
- Many of the records to about 1948 are available at the FamilySearch Library in Salt Lake City and at its FamilySearch Centers.
- 1917--Payette County was created 28 February 1917 from Canyon County
- New Plymouth
- Payette
Current
Historical
Early Payette Idaho Churches by Ron Marlow
County Commissioners' Records
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records
Some of the early court records of PayetteCounty, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Payette County courthouse in Payette, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Payette County that have been microfilmed include:
Judgment Books
- Judgment records, 1917-1930 Idaho. District Court (Payette County)
Directories
The Idaho State Archives has a collection of city, county, state and regional directories.
History
Link to the history of the city of Payette: payettecounty.info/officials/hawley.html
Link to stories of people and places: payettecounty.info/marlow/intro.html
Land and Property
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Payette County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Payette, Idaho.
At this time there do not appear to be any microfilmed copies of Payette County's land and property records. Earlier records might be found in Canyon County from which it was formed.
Maps
- Link to historic maps of Payette County: payettecounty.info/maps/intro.html.
- A digital Payette County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Payette County, Idaho is available online.
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Payette County, Idaho for European and African American settlers included:
- Snake River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[6]
Military
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Payette County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452220) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Newspapers
Current
Historical
Copies of issues of many Idaho newspapers are in the collections of the Idaho State Archives
Probate
Record A (1896-1925) of Payette's probate records has been microfilmed and copies are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, or at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Copies can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City, or in any of its Family History Centers.
Any other existing probate records or those of later dates should be available at the Payette County courthouse in Payette and can be accessed by visiting there.
Taxation
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Payette County should be in the courthouse in Payette and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records
Birth
Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Payette County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage
Over 7400 marriages, 1917-1964, are listed on Western States Marriage Index.
There are 143 Payette County marriages in the online Idaho Marriages.
Death
Societies and Libraries
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Fruitland Community Library
500 Southwest 3rd Street, Fruitland, ID 83619
(208) 452-7123 - Armoral Tuttle Public Library
301 Plymouth Avenue, New Plymouth, ID 83655
(208) 278-5338 - Payette County Museum
90 South 9th Street, Payette, ID 83661
(208) 642-4883 - Payette County Historical Society
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The Payette County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Payette County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Payette, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- ↑ census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- ↑ quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap5.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 May 2013, at 18:45.
- This page has been accessed 2,417 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




