Peasmarsh, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Peasmarsh, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Peasmarsh, Sussex
Peasmarsh St Peter&St Paul East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Goldspur
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Rye PLU
Registration District Rye
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PEASMARSH (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and parliamentary borough of Rye, hundred of Goldspur, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 3¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Rye. The parish is bounded on the north by the river Rother, and the road from London to Rye passes through the village. The church is in the early English style, and surmounted by a spire. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Peasmarsh is an Ancient parish; the history of the church is available Peasmarsh St Peter and St Paul

The Parish church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated asa grade I listed building British listed building

Peasmarsh Sussex Online Parish Clerks( OPC)

See also Peasmarsh Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Peasmarsh

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.

Poor Law Unions

Rye Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Peasmarsh/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 540-542. Date accessed: 27 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,436 times.