Pelsall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Pelsall, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pelsall, Staffordshire
Pelsall St Michael & All Angels Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall PLU
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1756
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Wolverhampton; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Pelsall is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1766 from chapelry in Wolverhampton St Peter, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

PELSALL, a township, in the parish of Wolverhampton, union of Walsall, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3¼ miles (N.) from Walsall.  There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Pelsall St Michael and All Angels formed 1766 from a  former chapelry to Wolverhampton St Peter, Staffordshire

Pelsall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
PELSALL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1754-1905
1876-1906

FMP 1746-1900 1746-1900

FREG 1746-1822

1763-1812
FS 1799-1839


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap about 1746 -1997 Mar 1849-1993 Bur about 1746-1997
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1799-1839 Mar none Bur 1799-1839

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474618.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 01 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 22:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,173 times.