Pembury, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Pembury, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pembury St Peter Kent.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Pembury is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent. Pembury Wikipedia It included the hamlets of Upper Green, Lower Green, Hawkwell, Bo-Peep and Romford, the modern settlements of Woodhill Park, Ridgeway and Beagleswood were developed in the 20th century.

Pembury St Peter is an Ancient Parish with two Anglican churches both dedicated to St Peter and both parish churches.

The Old Church of St Peter Old Church Road has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The Upper church of Pembury St Peter, Hastings Road, Pembury has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building dates from 1846-1847 as a chapel of ease later parish church. See Kent Churches website

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 260-272. Date Accessed: 9 September 2013.

 at British History Online
 

See Pembury North West Kent Family History Society for the Parish church of St Peter and the chapel of ease the Upper church of St Peter and other places of worship. [Pembury Old Church St Peter]

The former workhouse for Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent at Pembury became a hospital in 1938 (Pembury County Hospital )and now houses Pembury Hospital Wikipedia.

The chapel at Pembury Hospital, Tonbridge Road, Pembury has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building and is a surviving example of a dedicated former workhouse and later hospital chapel commemorating staff and with several original features from the 1860's gothic style construction and interior. 

Resources

Civil Registration

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pembury, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Pembury, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1716-1812
1716-1812

FS BTs 1716-1842, 1897-1904 1716-1842, 1897-1904 1716-1842, 1897-1904
FS PRs 1747-1854 1747-1837 1737-1886

Land Tax

Images for the Borough of Sunighleigh, Borough of Tipperidge, Pembury available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Images for Brenchley, Kent, Horsmonden, Kent Pembury, Kent and Yalding, Kent available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Pembury 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

PEMBURY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Tonbridge, hundred of Washlingstone, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Tonbridge. [4]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,745 times.