Pencoys, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Pencoys, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pencoys, Cornwall
Type Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Helston PLU
Registration District Helston now Kerrier
Records begin
Parish registers: 1881
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The parish of Pencoys was created from part of Wendron parish in 1881. The main village of the parish is Four Lanes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pencoys, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[1]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Pencoys, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1881-1911
1882-1913
1884-1912
FMP 1881-1887




FREG 1881-1901
1884-1904
1882-1900
FS PRs
1881-1901
1882-1900
1884-1901

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 174

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful page for research in this parish is the Cornwall Online parish Clerks page.

Census records

Overview, Include any unique information such as, the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Pencoys in GENUKI

References

  1. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  2. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 September 2014, at 20:50.
  • This page has been accessed 540 times.