Pendleton County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Pendleton County

Guide to Pendleton County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Pendleton County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Pendleton County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 4, 1798
County Seat Falmouth
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Pendleton Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Pendleton County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Pendleton County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Deeds
Wills
1852
1799
1852
1810
1798
1841
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Pendleton County Courthouse, Falmouth, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.
 

Pendleton County Courthouse
223 Main St; PO Box 112;
Falmouth, KY 41040
Phone: 859.654.3347[1]

Pendleton County Kentucky History

Parent County

1798--Pendleton County was created 4 December 1798 from Bracken and Campbell Counties.
County seat: Falmouth [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Pendleton County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bachelors Rest Concord Gardnersville Menzie
Boston DeMossville Goforth Meridian
Browning Corner Doughton Greenwood Morgan
Butler Durbintown Hayes Mount Auburn
Caddo Ezra (hist.) Ivor Peach Grove
Caldwell Falmouth Knoxville Portland
Callensville (hist.) Flowertown (hist.) Locust Grove
Carntown Four Oaks Marcus
Catawba Fruit Hill (hist.) McKinneysburg

Neighboring Counties

Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kypendleton.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Bibles

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 1,613
1810 3,061 89.8%
1820 3,086 0.8%
1830 3,863 25.2%
1840 4,455 15.3%
1850 6,774 52.1%
1860 10,443 54.2%
1870 14,030 34.3%
1880 16,702 19.0%
1890 16,346 −2.1%
1900 14,947 −8.6%
1910 11,985 −19.8%
1920 11,719 −2.2%
1930 10,876 −7.2%
1940 10,392 −4.5%
1950 9,610 −7.5%
1960 9,968 3.7%
1970 9,949 −0.2%
1980 10,989 10.5%
1990 12,036 9.5%
2000 14,390 19.6%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Pendleton County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pendleton County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Pendleton County Kentucky History  ~  history of Pendleton County from KY.gov


Fryer House  ~  The Fryer House is located in Butler, Kentucky. This historic two story stone house was built by Pendleton County, Kentucky pioneer Walter Fryer in 1811. Abraham Vastine, a housebuilder, built this house of limestone from an adjacent quarry and it has walls two feet thick. The roof truss system is built of wood framing held together with wooden pegs. The home was not completed until 1813. The home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Pendleton County Historical Society announced in April 2007 that it had leased the home for 99 years as a museum and Society offices. The building had been vacant for seven years.


Kennett Tavern  ~  The Kennett Tavern is located in Falmouth, and is the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s oldest standing commercial building of Federated architectural construction. The facility has been completely renovated and now serves as the City of Falmouth Municipal Building.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Pendleton County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pendleton County, Kentucky:


- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B and I.
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Veteran Cavalry (Wolford's Cavalry) (Union), Companies B and C.
- 18th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies F, G and K.
- 40th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, F and G.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company A.

Newspapers

Falmouth Outlook Newspaper  ~  Serving Pendleton County since 1907.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pendleton County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Timeline

Date Event Source
1798 Land records recorded Source:Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources
1799 County formed Source:Red Book  American State, County and Town Sources 
1799 Court records recorded Source:Red Book American State, County and Town Sources
1799 Marriage records recorded Source:Red Book American State, County and Town Sources
1799 Probate records recorded Source:Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources
1800 First census Source:Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990
1820 No significant boundary changes after this year Source:Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990
1852 Birth records recorded Source:Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Pendleton County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[3] digitized by Ancestry ($).

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Pendleton County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Pendleton County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1859 - Pendleton County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517871 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874-1875 - Pendleton County Birth Index 1874-1875. Batch C517872 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875-1876 - Pendleton County Birth Index 1875-1876. Batch C517873 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1852-1859 - Pendleton County Marriage Index 1852-1859. Batch M517871 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875-1876 - Pendleton County Marriage Index 1875-1876. Batch M517874 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1878 - Pendleton County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517875 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries


Pendleton County Historical Society
P. O. Box 130
Falmouth, KY 41040
Phone: (859) 654-3225

Family History Centers

Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pendleton County, Kentucky page 274, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:46.
  • This page has been accessed 10,621 times.