Pendleton St Thomas (Salford), LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Pendleton St Thomas, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Thomas Church Pendleton.jpg

Contents

Chapelry History

PENDLETON, a chapelry, in the parish of Eccles, borough, union, and hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 2½ miles (W. by N.) from Manchester. It was founded in 1767 as a chapel of ease. The main chapel, was built and in operation by the year 1776. The building was used as a church until 1829, by this time the population in the area had quadrupled to around 8,000 when a newer bigger church was required. St Thomas' church replaced the chapel and it was opened in 1831. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, and Methodists of the New Connexion.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Pendleton St Thomas chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Eccles to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


PENDLETON ST THOMAS Chapelry (1776) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1843-1864 None 1776-1812
LOPC 1813-1862  None 1776-1850
AC None None None
LBMD 1837-1900 None None
ECCLES ST MARY PARISH (1563) Indexes (ancient parish containing PENDLETON ST THOMAS Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials 
FS 1564-1632 1564-1632 None
LOPC 1819-1848  1565-1873 1810-1842
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
FMP None 1565-1758 None
AC 1563-1666 1563-1666 1563-1663
FREG 1564-1632 1564-1632 1563-1632


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Pendleton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Eccles to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ECCLES ST MARY PARISH page.


Parish registers for St. Thomas' Church, Pendleton near Salford, 1776-1836

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1776-1836.
FHL BRITISH Film
223708

Bishop's transcripts for Pendleton, 1813-1820 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
St. Thomas in Pendleton is a chapelry in the parish of Eccles.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/108a

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1813-1820
FHL BRITISH Film
1545555 Item 2

Pendleton- St Thomas
Baptisms-1776-1780- MFPR 139 or 2237
Baptisms-1780-1787- MFPR 139
Baptisms-1776-1856- MFPR 139 or 2237-2240
Baptisms-1856-1858- MFPR 1612
Baptisms-1858-1862- MFPR 1612 or 2241
Baptisms-1862-1910- MFPR 1612-1613
Baptisms-1910-1969- MFPR 1614
Baptisms-1970-1990-MFPR 1237
Burials-1776-1860- MFPR 139
Burials-1860-1968- MFPR 1621
Marriages-1839-1894- MFPR 1615
Marriages-1894-1908- MFPR 1616
Marriages-1908-1922- MFPR 1617
Marriages-1922-1939- MFPR 1618
Marriages-1939-1950- MFPR 1619
Marriages-1950-1970- MFPR 1620
Marriages-1970-1991- Archives L186

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306898.


Poor Law Unions

Salford, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=41443British History Online

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 525-530. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 October 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 2,717 times.